Quantcast
Help me find a car for $10k ish - Beyond.ca - Car Forums
Page 1 of 3 1 2 ... LastLast

Thread: Help me find a car for $10k ish

Default Help me find a car for $10k ish

I figured I'd add beyond to my points of research for some of the cars I'm interested in, as I've had no prior experience with some of them. Looking for a new daily driver, going to be shared with the gf. Current car is an EP3 hatch, while it's obviously not the fastest, still fun to drive around in the city. Still early in the research phase, probably looking to pick one up in 3-6mo?

Criteria:
    - budget is $10k (ish)
    - 4 door
    - manual
    - sun/moonroof of some sort (my preference)
    - reliability is a concern (see Euro choices)
    - (arguably) not super boring to drive
    - I'm 6'3" - need something a little comfier because old-man back
    - small SUVs are out

Options:
    - VW GTI
    - VW Jetta (is GLI out of my price range?)
    - BMW 328i (can someone speak about the reliability of this car? I've read mixed things about the N52)
    - IS250
    - Subaru Cross trek? (I rather not tbh lol)
    - TSX ?

Open to hearing all other suggestions for cars I haven't thought of.

Thanks in advance!

My Ride
    V8s

Most bang for your buck in that range will probably be a 2007+ G35/G37S. It's a lot of car for the money, and they're pretty reliable. You don't want to go older than that as the entire car is basically... shittier. Also the S models are actually pretty decent to drive and have very comfortable seats. I think the only real issue with these is the steering rack starts to leak a bit when they get higher miles (I drove mine up to ~180k and it was just starting to weep a tiny bit).

edit: you might need your whole 6 month window to find one in decent shape for a decent price, as the S model 6mt sedan are not super common. Just be diligent though (or willing to travel).
    Last edited by bjstare; 07-02-2020 at 03:03 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by cjblair View Post