Quantcast
Programmable Thermostats - Thoughts? - Page 5 - Beyond.ca - Car Forums
Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst ... 4 5
Results 81 to 91 of 91

Thread: Programmable Thermostats - Thoughts?

  1. #81
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Calgary, AB
    Posts
    1,438
    Rep Power
    46

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by JRSC00LUDE View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    I have never considered any of these things, I just know my house is 18 or 19 in the winter and 20 or 21 in the summer. That's as in-depth as I've ever been with my comfort. Can't say I've ever noticed window sweat but, its absence wasn't planned.

    I suddenly feel like I'm not living properly.
    For me it's the humidity control, resetting the temp when my wife decides that 26 is an acceptable temperature, and so I can turn on the vent fan remotely.

  2. #82
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    Ford, Acura
    Posts
    2,090
    Rep Power
    43

    Default

    This would make sense as to why they were blowing the most recent model out at Home Depot for $150
    Quote Originally Posted by rage2 View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    ...Last thing I want is someone reading my posts and losing their cock over it...
    Quote Originally Posted by Sugarphreak
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Meh, they all look like Jackie Chan to me
    Quote Originally Posted by ExtraSlow View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    I'm generally cute.

  3. #83
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Calgary / AB
    My Ride
    '13 MazdaSpeed 3, Zoom Zoom!
    Posts
    752
    Rep Power
    20

    Default

    Going to buy Ecobee Premium, that can control humidifier on furnace (along with all the other features). Have to pull a new thermostat wire.

    How many conductors do I need to have?
    My Karma ran over your Dogma

  4. #84
    Join Date
    Jan 1970
    Location
    YYC
    My Ride
    1 x E Class Benz
    Posts
    23,190
    Rep Power
    101

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by cidley69 View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Going to buy Ecobee Premium, that can control humidifier on furnace (along with all the other features). Have to pull a new thermostat wire.

    How many conductors do I need to have?
    Install ecobee beside furnace. Use remote temp sensors. Don't even bother with pulling wires.
    Originally posted by SEANBANERJEE
    I have gone above and beyond what I should rightfully have to do to protect my good name

  5. #85
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Nothingburger Hill
    My Ride
    Garbanzo Bean
    Posts
    11,749
    Rep Power
    100

    Default

    Yeah, don't need the unit out in the rest of the house. Pretty sure 5 wires is all you need for ecobee with humidity, but if I ever pull wires for a thermostat again I'd find that 7-strand wire and pull that. I'd also leave large loops at each end and a 5 foot loop bolted to the wall of the furnace room.

    Because you don't ever want to need to use wire with slightly different colors.....

    But rage is right, don't need that thing put for any reason aside from enjoying the big screen of it. The app is better.

  6. #86
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Calgary / AB
    My Ride
    '13 MazdaSpeed 3, Zoom Zoom!
    Posts
    752
    Rep Power
    20

    Default

    One of the main reasons I want a fancy new thermostat is for humidity control. Reading earlier in this thread the only humidty sensor in this system is in the main control unit, would like to put it somewehre representative of the living space of the house.

    Lucky for me, its an unfinished basement, and its literally a 10 ft piece of wire between the furnace location and the current thermostat. I can even use the old tstat wire to fish the new wire into place.

    Future-proofing with a 7 strand wire sounds like a solid plan!
    My Karma ran over your Dogma

  7. #87
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Nothingburger Hill
    My Ride
    Garbanzo Bean
    Posts
    11,749
    Rep Power
    100

    Default

    I don't know if HVAC wire is different than cat6, but it's a different price to be sure.

  8. #88
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Calgary, AB
    Posts
    1,438
    Rep Power
    46

    Default

    https://www.homedepot.ca/product/sou...own/1000663287

    Jesus this used to be around $30.

  9. #89
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    2,055
    Rep Power
    36

    Default

    If you’re not in a rush, order from Amazon. $55 for 50’ of 18/7 wire:

    Southwire 64170422 18/7 Solid Copper Class 2 Power-Limited Thermostat Wire, 50 feet, Brown https://a.co/d/79hLKju

  10. #90
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    calgary ab
    My Ride
    4x4
    Posts
    2,344
    Rep Power
    22

    Default

    Is there a cost effective "smart" thermostat option when you have multiple baseboard heaters - each with its own thermostat?

    I mean it'd be cool to use them properly as independent zones and all - but at 200$+ each, when you have 5 of them...

  11. #91
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Homeless
    My Ride
    Blue Dabadee
    Posts
    8,557
    Rep Power
    97

    Default

    Probably something to be said for only putting smart thermostats on 1 or 2.

    And leave the others “dumb”.

    I would bet you get 80% of the benefits if you are smart about it.

    But a lot of smart thermostats don’t play nice with baseboard heaters anyway.
    Originally posted by Thales of Miletus

    If you think I have been trying to present myself as intellectually superior, then you truly are a dimwit.
    Originally posted by Toma
    fact.
    Quote Originally Posted by Yolobimmer View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote

    guessing who I might be, psychologizing me with your non existent degree.

Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst ... 4 5

Similar Threads

  1. Smart Thermostats?

    By birdman86 in forum Home and Garden
    Replies: 17
    Latest Threads: 03-30-2020, 01:25 PM
  2. New in box Nest thermostats PSA

    By Maxt in forum General
    Replies: 0
    Latest Threads: 02-27-2017, 08:10 AM
  3. FS: 97-01 Prelude two programmable blank keys

    By mr.13secprobe in forum Automotive Parts [Aero/Styling/Interior]
    Replies: 1
    Latest Threads: 03-09-2007, 02:54 AM
  4. FS: Sony RM-AV2000 Universal programmable remote control

    By paulj in forum Miscellaneous Buy/Sell/Trade
    Replies: 5
    Latest Threads: 12-02-2006, 04:15 PM
  5. Low. temp thermostats and boost...are there advantages?

    By Redlyne_mr2 in forum Forced Induction Talk
    Replies: 7
    Latest Threads: 09-12-2004, 07:50 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •