Quantcast
New MS Flight Simulator!!!! - Page 2 - Beyond.ca - Car Forums
Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 40 of 67

Thread: New MS Flight Simulator!!!!

  1. #21
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    calgary
    My Ride
    rs4, ram, 675f3
    Posts
    1,212
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    Any recommendations for controls??

  2. #22
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    Protege 5 Turbo / Ecoboost FX4
    Posts
    1,183
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by danno View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Any recommendations for controls??
    There still aren’t a lot of quality options out there unless you go full home cockpit. The Saitek stuff is pretty good for the money, great place for the hobbyist simmer to start.

  3. #23
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Not Aspen
    My Ride
    Two from Freemont
    Posts
    9,200
    Rep Power
    20

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by danno View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Any recommendations for controls??
    The last time I played FS, it was on floppies and used the arrow keys. haha, didn't even have a joystick.
    My Tesla referral link: https://ts.la/moon14483

  4. #24
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Blackfalds aka north RD, AB
    My Ride
    Bikes.Car.Truck
    Posts
    1,015
    Rep Power
    7

    Default

    More on VR support:

    Microsoft Flight Simulator is officially getting VR support, the studio today revealed. It’s not coming day-one, but VR support is expected to arrive alongside (or very near) the launch of HP’s upcoming Reverb G2 headset, which is slated to arrive sometime this fall.

    https://www.roadtovr.com/microsoft-f...upport-happen/
    96 Ram 1500-Sold
    03 RSX-S-Sold
    03 350Z-Sold
    07 CBR 600RR-Sold
    11 Honda Fury-Sold
    14 CBR 1000RR-Sold
    14 Ram 1500-Current
    14 Optima LX-Sold
    15 Victory Highball-Current
    15 Genesis 3.8 Ultimate-Current
    18 Husky 701SM-Current

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    Grimace
    Posts
    6,607
    Rep Power
    15

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by danno View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Any recommendations for controls??
    I might look into this one myself for just some casual use:
    https://www.microsoft.com/en-ca/p/th...n/904dt76970mq

  6. #26
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    calgary
    My Ride
    09 Impreza 2.5
    Posts
    225
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    I saw some videos on youtube of the preview build and it looks nice.

  7. #27
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    2019 F150 Lariat 2.7 & 2015 StreetTriple R
    Posts
    332
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by schocker View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    I might look into this one myself for just some casual use:
    https://www.microsoft.com/en-ca/p/th...n/904dt76970mq
    That actually looks decent for the price

  8. #28
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    UZJ100, D2 S8, UrQuattro
    Posts
    1,430
    Rep Power
    9

    Default

    If anyone is looking for an excellent joystick, I have an extra Microsoft Force Feedback 2 - I expect these will skyrocket in demand once FS2020 drops, so shoot me a PM if you want it!
    Originally posted by InRich
    tell her I'll pick her up in the vette
    Originally posted by InRich
    The X5 i bought earlier this year really is FULLY LOADED though not a single option missing including infrared night driving

  9. #29
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Blackfalds aka north RD, AB
    My Ride
    Bikes.Car.Truck
    Posts
    1,015
    Rep Power
    7

    Default

    Anyone get it?

    I have been playing the hell out of this since it launched. Looks great but definitely some bugs and needs optimization. I'm getting around 18-24 frames per second at large airports like JFK and LAX. Up in the air is good performance tho. Utilization of cores is a problem it seems. My specs are below.

    First flight in, I flew over my house and pretty much all family member houses. They are all autogen so they are by no means exact but they are there in the correct spot. My moms house seemed to be the most accurate (ranch style bungalow). Pretty cool! Nice visuals but I think this sim is still very much a work in progress.

    Specs:
    9900K OC'ed to 5.1GHz
    2080Ti OC'ed to 2070MHz
    64GB RAM
    2TB M.2 NVMe

    Game settings are set to high end graphics.
    96 Ram 1500-Sold
    03 RSX-S-Sold
    03 350Z-Sold
    07 CBR 600RR-Sold
    11 Honda Fury-Sold
    14 CBR 1000RR-Sold
    14 Ram 1500-Current
    14 Optima LX-Sold
    15 Victory Highball-Current
    15 Genesis 3.8 Ultimate-Current
    18 Husky 701SM-Current

  10. #30
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Airdrie
    My Ride
    '05 Cororra, '16 Rex
    Posts
    142
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    I did the $1 Game Pass upgrade because of it. +1 on the bugs, got the one where the downloader didn't want to do anything, one where the ethernet port randomly disconnects and get usage blips on the graphics card too(but that might be due to it being old AF).
    Ordered a Saitek yoke+throttle combo, hopefully it shows up.

    Specs:
    4790K OC'ed to 4.5Ghz
    R9 280X @ stock speeds(waiting on RTX 3000 to drop)
    24GB RAM
    1TB M.2
    Running on medium preset, getting around 30fps with frequent drops.

    Edit: Not sure if it's my hardware, but objects seem to pop in alot closer than what I remember seeing from the demo video(yes, I know the draw distances differ based on what gfx setting)
    Last edited by cyra1ax; 08-20-2020 at 01:47 PM.

  11. #31
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    10,140
    Rep Power
    24

    Default

    From what I read this game can use 24 threads no problem, so I think you need quite the PC to have a decent experience. I can't imagine how bad the console experience would be unless they really tone down the graphics or something.

    I like flying games so I've been thinking about trying this for PC - what would I be looking at for some decent flight controls? I don't imagine it's much fun to play with arrow keys or a game pad.

    Also, do you just fly around? or what is the goal? I don't imagine people are flying London to NY and just staring at the screen on autopilot for 8 hours lol, but I really have no idea.

  12. #32
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Calgary, Alberta
    My Ride
    Subaru Outback
    Posts
    852
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Mitsu3000gt View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote

    Also, do you just fly around? or what is the goal? I don't imagine people are flying London to NY and just staring at the screen on autopilot for 8 hours lol, but I really have no idea.
    20 years ago, that's exactly what people were doing on the MS flight sims. It was serious business.

  13. #33
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    10,140
    Rep Power
    24

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Pacman View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    20 years ago, that's exactly what people were doing on the MS flight sims. It was serious business.
    That's pretty hilarious. Good for those people I guess, they have way more patience than I!

  14. #34
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    calgary
    My Ride
    rs4, ram, 675f3
    Posts
    1,212
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    Finally got mine up and running today, plays decent for me on a low end system. I get up and flying then I get bored. Great game though

  15. #35
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    calgary
    My Ride
    09 Impreza 2.5
    Posts
    225
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    I am enjoying it so far, but my 1080 is not enough for 4k

  16. #36
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Blackfalds aka north RD, AB
    My Ride
    Bikes.Car.Truck
    Posts
    1,015
    Rep Power
    7

    Default

    Cockpit of the 787 kills my frames big time. But the drone cam makes my frames fly upwards over 60.

    Did some testing with MSI Afterburner and noticed that my GPU usage is only 50% in the cockpit but goes to 98% with the drone cam.

    I cranked every graphics setting to the absolute max in game.
    96 Ram 1500-Sold
    03 RSX-S-Sold
    03 350Z-Sold
    07 CBR 600RR-Sold
    11 Honda Fury-Sold
    14 CBR 1000RR-Sold
    14 Ram 1500-Current
    14 Optima LX-Sold
    15 Victory Highball-Current
    15 Genesis 3.8 Ultimate-Current
    18 Husky 701SM-Current

  17. #37
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Not Aspen
    My Ride
    Two from Freemont
    Posts
    9,200
    Rep Power
    20

    Default

    The 91GB download after installing was painful. Had the stuck on loading screen bug.
    My Tesla referral link: https://ts.la/moon14483

  18. #38
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    calgary
    My Ride
    CLK 55 / 2g Eclipse / EP3
    Posts
    4,240
    Rep Power
    14

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by 16hypen3sp View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Anyone get it?

    I have been playing the hell out of this since it launched. Looks great but definitely some bugs and needs optimization. I'm getting around 18-24 frames per second at large airports like JFK and LAX. Up in the air is good performance tho. Utilization of cores is a problem it seems. My specs are below.

    First flight in, I flew over my house and pretty much all family member houses. They are all autogen so they are by no means exact but they are there in the correct spot. My moms house seemed to be the most accurate (ranch style bungalow). Pretty cool! Nice visuals but I think this sim is still very much a work in progress.

    Specs:
    9900K OC'ed to 5.1GHz
    2080Ti OC'ed to 2070MHz
    64GB RAM
    2TB M.2 NVMe

    Game settings are set to high end graphics.
    If youre running into FPS issues with those specs, its a game issue and not a hardware issue.

  19. #39
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Blackfalds aka north RD, AB
    My Ride
    Bikes.Car.Truck
    Posts
    1,015
    Rep Power
    7

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Mitsu3000gt View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Also, do you just fly around? or what is the goal? I don't imagine people are flying London to NY and just staring at the screen on autopilot for 8 hours lol, but I really have no idea.
    There are challenges you can complete but for the most part... I fly around.

    I took a Covid vacation thru flight simulator last night.... I went to Dubai. What a fantastic place.

    Quote Originally Posted by revelations View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    If youre running into FPS issues with those specs, its a game issue and not a hardware issue.
    Yes I agree. Definitely on the game side of things. Utilization across all cores is low. Have to wait and see if they patch it with better optimization.
    Last edited by 16hypen3sp; 08-21-2020 at 10:06 AM.
    96 Ram 1500-Sold
    03 RSX-S-Sold
    03 350Z-Sold
    07 CBR 600RR-Sold
    11 Honda Fury-Sold
    14 CBR 1000RR-Sold
    14 Ram 1500-Current
    14 Optima LX-Sold
    15 Victory Highball-Current
    15 Genesis 3.8 Ultimate-Current
    18 Husky 701SM-Current

  20. #40
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    10,140
    Rep Power
    24

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by revelations View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    If youre running into FPS issues with those specs, its a game issue and not a hardware issue.
    I dunno, the game seems to like threads and for the same or less money as a 9900K/10900K you can get a lot more of them on much more modern architecture. Just depends on what you've built your PC for.

    - - - Updated - - -

    Quote Originally Posted by 16hypen3sp View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    There are challenges you can complete but for the most part... I fly around.

    I took a Covid vacation thru flight simulator last night.... I went to Dubai. What a fantastic place.
    .
    Haha that sounds pretty sweet.

    What does it cost for a decent controls setup?

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. FS: USB Real Flight RC Simulator Controller

    By Dalking in forum Computer Hardware & Peripherals
    Replies: 0
    Latest Threads: 07-23-2014, 05:52 PM
  2. FS: Real Flight 4.5 Simulator + Interlink Elite

    By EvolizePhoto in forum Computer Hardware & Peripherals
    Replies: 2
    Latest Threads: 06-03-2010, 10:33 AM
  3. what is the best flight simulator?

    By nonlinear in forum Computers, Consoles, and other Electronics
    Replies: 6
    Latest Threads: 10-11-2009, 12:59 PM
  4. FS: Joystick + Flight Simulator X

    By Sharpie in forum Miscellaneous Buy/Sell/Trade
    Replies: 4
    Latest Threads: 02-22-2007, 01:05 AM
  5. Flight Simulator X

    By Sharpie in forum Video Games
    Replies: 8
    Latest Threads: 02-01-2007, 02:44 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •