Quantcast
SpaceX Starlink Internet beta test - Page 7 - Beyond.ca - Car Forums
Page 7 of 9 FirstFirst ... 6 7 8 ... LastLast
Results 121 to 140 of 170

Thread: SpaceX Starlink Internet beta test

  1. #121
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    792
    Rep Power
    9

    Default

    Is the system Geo locked...in that could you move it from your house to the lake / camper etc...as you need it ?

    Portable high(er) speed internet in the back country ??
    2011 Ram 1500 QC Sport
    2012 Honda Accord EX-L Nav V6 6-Spd

  2. #122
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Foothills County
    My Ride
    is faster than yours
    Posts
    1,076
    Rep Power
    13

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Nufy View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Is the system Geo locked...in that could you move it from your house to the lake / camper etc...as you need it ?

    Portable high(er) speed internet in the back country ??
    it's locked to your service address and won't work if you move it elsewhere.

  3. #123
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Not the NE
    My Ride
    Blue Dabadee
    Posts
    6,223
    Rep Power
    46

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Nufy View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Is the system Geo locked...in that could you move it from your house to the lake / camper etc...as you need it ?

    Portable high(er) speed internet in the back country ??
    It is geo locked apparently, something about how it cells out bandwidth the system needs to know who to send data to down below is how it was described.

    I think itís a reasonably wide berth but certainly canít tour the country with it.

    Yet.
    Originally posted by Thales of Miletus

    If you think I have been trying to present myself as intellectually superior, then you truly are a dimwit.
    Originally posted by Toma
    fact.

  4. #124
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Edmonton
    My Ride
    2020 Genesis G70
    Posts
    992
    Rep Power
    9

    Default

    Someone I know just received info to sign up but it was $1,000 and $150 per month. This is in NB. Not sure how different it is between provinces. He has decided it isn't worth being one of the first to try it.

  5. #125
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Calgary AB
    Posts
    2,171
    Rep Power
    21

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by blownz View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Someone I know just received info to sign up but it was $1,000 and $150 per month. This is in NB. Not sure how different it is between provinces. He has decided it isn't worth being one of the first to try it.
    It must be different. I just paid $649 for the setup although I added a few extra stuff for roof attachments etc so $700 plus tax and it is $129/month.
    Bob Blakeborough

  6. #126
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Calgary, Alberta
    My Ride
    GLC43
    Posts
    8,538
    Rep Power
    22

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Nufy View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Is the system Geo locked...in that could you move it from your house to the lake / camper etc...as you need it ?

    Portable high(er) speed internet in the back country ??
    AMA summary from last Nov.



    - geolock to address
    - system reboot if motion detected
    - data cap may happen in the future
    - heater in dish, draw about 100w to keep snow off.
    - space laser not active yet, communication is customer to sat to ground station, no sat to sat routing yet.
    Last edited by Xtrema; 01-22-2021 at 03:34 PM.

  7. #127
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    2011 Ralliart SB
    Posts
    408
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Instant sign ups for eligible Canadians

    https://www.itworldcanada.com/articl...nadians/441163

  8. #128
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    South of Calgary
    My Ride
    is broken
    Posts
    756
    Rep Power
    7

  9. #129
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    2011 Ralliart SB
    Posts
    408
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    I scrolled back a few pages, didn't see any mention of instant sign ups. Guess you missed an important part of what makes that link exciting.

  10. #130
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Not the NE
    My Ride
    Blue Dabadee
    Posts
    6,223
    Rep Power
    46

    Default

    The “instant sign up” is the same page they have had for 9 months.
    Originally posted by Thales of Miletus

    If you think I have been trying to present myself as intellectually superior, then you truly are a dimwit.
    Originally posted by Toma
    fact.

  11. #131
    Thaco's Avatar
    Thaco is offline sucks off little boys (ya, don't fuck with rage2 bitch!!!)
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    Rage2
    Posts
    3,736
    Rep Power
    15

    Default

    instant sign up, not instant pick you
    User title molested by Rage2.

    Quote Originally Posted by rage2 View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    It's not the size that matters, it's the taste it leaves in your mouth.

  12. #132
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    calgary
    My Ride
    CLK 55 / 2g Eclipse / EP3
    Posts
    4,413
    Rep Power
    15

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by JDMMAN View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Curious how this has performed in snowstorms (and other storms). Unlimited High-speed internet is literally one of the only reasons why I haven't moved to an acreage lol
    Someone in a rural US area posted a YT video - they saw noticeable drops in speedtests during heavy snow fall. Not sure it it was atmospheric snow, or cumulative snow that the melter couldnt get off.

  13. #133
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Calgary AB
    Posts
    2,171
    Rep Power
    21

    Default

    5 days in and so far I have not had any interruptions in service and everything is working really well. Speed is up and down a bit but I have seen it dip below 100mb down only once and even then it was still in the 90's. I just ran a speed test and currently I am at 110mb down and 23mb up with a 25MS for latency.

    Still super satisfied!
    Bob Blakeborough

  14. #134
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    2011 Ralliart SB
    Posts
    408
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Are you outside the city Bob ? Don't have to say where exactly, if you'd prefer not to. But curious how far you would be outside the core to need this over a calgary telco.

  15. #135
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Calgary AB
    Posts
    2,171
    Rep Power
    21

    Default

    I am in Water Valley an hour out of the city and live in the forest. My property is very low in the valley too so until now, the absolute only option that worked was satellite from Xplornet. This system is miles ahead!
    Bob Blakeborough

  16. #136
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Airdrie
    My Ride
    LS6 CTS-V
    Posts
    227
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by tirebob View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    5 days in and so far I have not had any interruptions in service and everything is working really well. Speed is up and down a bit but I have seen it dip below 100mb down only once and even then it was still in the 90's. I just ran a speed test and currently I am at 110mb down and 23mb up with a 25MS for latency.

    Still super satisfied!
    Nice, mine's shipped but hasn't arrived yet. Was on the fence, because I hit 20-25mbps with Telus...but 100mbps was too tempting

  17. #137
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Foothills County
    My Ride
    is faster than yours
    Posts
    1,076
    Rep Power
    13

    Default

    Well I got mine today and did a temporary install but I can say I am throughly disappointed. Unless it’s way more obstructed than the app is indicating, the performance at my place is basically the same as Xplornet. Download speeds are the same (both are showing 10-15 mbps right now), uploads are twice the speed but doubling 1.0 mbps is still slow, latency is the only thing that is really improved.

  18. #138
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Calgary AB
    Posts
    2,171
    Rep Power
    21

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by never View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Well I got mine today and did a temporary install but I can say I am throughly disappointed. Unless it’s way more obstructed than the app is indicating, the performance at my place is basically the same as Xplornet. Download speeds are the same (both are showing 10-15 mbps right now), uploads are twice the speed but doubling 1.0 mbps is still slow, latency is the only thing that is really improved.
    Yeah you have to have something going on... Definitely not my experience at all!

    Did you do the full sweep when checking with the app? I made that mistake at first but caught it before installing the dish thankfully or I would have had a swatch of trees in one area.
    Last edited by tirebob; 01-26-2021 at 09:43 PM.
    Bob Blakeborough

  19. #139
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Foothills County
    My Ride
    is faster than yours
    Posts
    1,076
    Rep Power
    13

    Default

    My SNR is averaging near max and I have 0 obstruction time according to the app. So I’m assuming it’s getting full signal/coverage. I’m not holding my breath it’ll be that much better when up on the roof.

    The thing that really sucks is my buddy 2 km away never sees anything under 80 and when I sent him my speed reports, he sent one back showing 110. I have to be in the same path as him.

  20. #140
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Calgary AB
    Posts
    2,171
    Rep Power
    21

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by never View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    My SNR is averaging near max and I have 0 obstruction time according to the app. So I’m assuming it’s getting full signal/coverage. I’m not holding my breath it’ll be that much better when up on the roof.

    The thing that really sucks is my buddy 2 km away never sees anything under 80 and when I sent him my speed reports, he sent one back showing 110. I have to be in the same path as him.
    There has to be a trouble shoot somewhere. Just doesn’t make sense if you have a full clear line of site with zero trees etc in the way.

    Mine is on the roof as it was the only spot it passed the tree tops in that one spot.

    I have only had one speed test come back under 100 down and it was still close...

    Edit - just did one and it was only 53. So that is now the lowest I have seen, but compared to 6.0 on Xplornet I am still way better off.
    Last edited by tirebob; 01-26-2021 at 09:58 PM.
    Bob Blakeborough

Page 7 of 9 FirstFirst ... 6 7 8 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. SpaceX falcon 9 barge test

    By nzwasp in forum Society / Law / Current Events / Politics
    Replies: 9
    Latest Threads: 05-06-2016, 07:23 AM
  2. SpaceX - Grasshopper 325m Test

    By supe in forum General
    Replies: 36
    Latest Threads: 07-09-2013, 08:55 AM
  3. Spacex Falcon1 successfully launches satellite

    By alloroc in forum Society / Law / Current Events / Politics
    Replies: 4
    Latest Threads: 07-16-2009, 01:19 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •