Quantcast
SpaceX Starlink Internet beta test - Page 8 - Beyond.ca - Car Forums
Page 8 of 9 FirstFirst ... 7 8 9 LastLast
Results 141 to 160 of 170

Thread: SpaceX Starlink Internet beta test

  1. #141
    Thaco's Avatar
    Thaco is offline sucks off little boys (ya, don't fuck with rage2 bitch!!!)
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    Rage2
    Posts
    3,736
    Rep Power
    15

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by never View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    My SNR is averaging near max and I have 0 obstruction time according to the app. So I’m assuming it’s getting full signal/coverage. I’m not holding my breath it’ll be that much better when up on the roof.

    The thing that really sucks is my buddy 2 km away never sees anything under 80 and when I sent him my speed reports, he sent one back showing 110. I have to be in the same path as him.
    you should save yourself the money and just go point to point with your buddy and freeload off him
    User title molested by Rage2.

    Quote Originally Posted by rage2 View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    It's not the size that matters, it's the taste it leaves in your mouth.

  2. #142
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Foothills County
    My Ride
    is faster than yours
    Posts
    1,076
    Rep Power
    13

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by tirebob View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    There has to be a trouble shoot somewhere. Just doesn’t make sense if you have a full clear line of site with zero trees etc in the way.

    Mine is on the roof as it was the only spot it passed the tree tops in that one spot.

    I have only had one speed test come back under 100 down and it was still close...

    Edit - just did one and it was only 53. So that is now the lowest I have seen, but compared to 6.0 on Xplornet I am still way better off.
    I checked on my web Starlink and there’s a message that my area is experiencing degraded service but my buddy isn’t having issues. I did a reboot and a stow cycle and no improvement.

    I’ll have to wait and see if anything improves.

    Quote Originally Posted by Thaco View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    you should save yourself the money and just go point to point with your buddy and freeload off him
    Haha...that may be a bit of an undertaking to go point to point!

  3. #143
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    2011 Ralliart SB
    Posts
    408
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Its not really more than $400 worth of tech and some education if you've got a fairly clear line of to your buddy, and a barn or mast to mount them on. 2km is nothing for a couple Nanobeam AC5 gen2 PTP radios.

    However splitting a 100 MB connection and dealing with some of the additional latency is probably not a great trade off to save a few bucks a month of having your own service at a slightly reduced speed.

  4. #144
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Foothills County
    My Ride
    is faster than yours
    Posts
    1,076
    Rep Power
    13

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by colsankey View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Its not really more than $400 worth of tech and some education if you've got a fairly clear line of to your buddy, and a barn or mast to mount them on. 2km is nothing for a couple Nanobeam AC5 gen2 PTP radios.
    The line of sight is why I said it’d be an undertaking...I’d have to build a very sizeable tower and so would he to have a hope at getting a clear line of sight! Definitely not worth the effort/cost.

  5. #145
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Calgary AB
    Posts
    2,173
    Rep Power
    22

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by never View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    I checked on my web Starlink and there’s a message that my area is experiencing degraded service but my buddy isn’t having issues. I did a reboot and a stow cycle and no improvement.

    I’ll have to wait and see if anything improves.



    Haha...that may be a bit of an undertaking to go point to point!
    Did 3 tests this morning and the worst has been 73 and the most 110...
    Bob Blakeborough

  6. #146
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Foothills County
    My Ride
    is faster than yours
    Posts
    1,076
    Rep Power
    13

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by tirebob View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Did 3 tests this morning and the worst has been 73 and the most 110...
    Everything was much faster last night around 11:00 and I did a few speed tests...I got speeds between 78 and 160...so it's showing the potential and even if it's always at the bottom end of that range, I'll be more than happy. But about 1/2 an hour later, it felt like Xplornet again and a couple of speed test showed in the 10-15 range. It's in that same range this morning. Though even with similar speeds as Xplornet, it's much quicker accessing files on my work servers through VPN - with Xplornet it was painful.

    So I'll see how everything works when I am able to do the permanent install with the dish on the roof.

  7. #147
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Calgary AB
    Posts
    2,173
    Rep Power
    22

    Default

    Super fast today ranging from 130 to 160 currently...
    Bob Blakeborough

  8. #148
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Calgary AB
    Posts
    2,173
    Rep Power
    22

    Default

    Since there has been lots of questions regarding the performance of this system in the snow, I just thought I would post that after last nights dump I have had zero connectivity issues at all so happy about that!
    Bob Blakeborough

  9. #149
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Calgary AB
    My Ride
    car2go
    Posts
    2,875
    Rep Power
    23

    Default

    That's good to know. I'm interested to see how this develops when it gets more popular.

  10. #150
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Calgary AB
    Posts
    2,173
    Rep Power
    22

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by cjblair View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    That's good to know. I'm interested to see how this develops when it gets more popular.
    I am curious to see how it will handle the 18 inch dump of snow one day but hopefully no testing of that until next winter!
    Bob Blakeborough

  11. #151
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Calgary AB
    Posts
    2,173
    Rep Power
    22

    Default

    So something I just realized... After getting Starlink, my Netflix account is the US based one. I wonder if that is just because of the satellites it is bouncing off of or something?
    Bob Blakeborough

  12. #152
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    South of Calgary
    My Ride
    is broken
    Posts
    756
    Rep Power
    7

    Default

    Yea at the moment there are no Canadian base stations. Your probably connected to a station in Montana.
    Check out the map here:
    https://satellitemap.space/#

    Reddit has some spy images of a Ontario station being built

  13. #153
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Victoria Park
    My Ride
    '16 FoRS, '09 UZN215, '90 Z32, '15 Grom
    Posts
    3,770
    Rep Power
    32

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by tirebob View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    So something I just realized... After getting Starlink, my Netflix account is the US based one. I wonder if that is just because of the satellites it is bouncing off of or something?
    That might be better depending what you want to watch!

  14. #154
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Pallet Town
    Posts
    584
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Lucky, Californication is probably still on US netflix. Still waiting on MM:Fury Road to come back to Canada.

    Snow is an issue, but there is one guy on Youtube who broke his on the first day because of icicle formation on the bottom, which ended up glueing his dish to the roof when it froze solid, which broke the motor.
    SN11 - Nope.

  15. #155
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Calgary AB
    Posts
    2,173
    Rep Power
    22

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ZenOps View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Lucky, Californication is probably still on US netflix. Still waiting on MM:Fury Road to come back to Canada.

    Snow is an issue, but there is one guy on Youtube who broke his on the first day because of icicle formation on the bottom, which ended up glueing his dish to the roof when it froze solid, which broke the motor.
    The snow we have seen so far has been no issue at all, but I also have my dish mounted up on the old Xplornet mount so it is a lot higher off the rood than if I used the mount from Starlink. Might be a good thing I did that apparently!

    5CE88AA1-4B15-40FE-96CF-B3640C3C8827.jpg
    Bob Blakeborough

  16. #156
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Airdrie
    My Ride
    LS6 CTS-V
    Posts
    227
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by tirebob View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    So something I just realized... After getting Starlink, my Netflix account is the US based one. I wonder if that is just because of the satellites it is bouncing off of or something?
    Yep, my Starlink IP location seems to bounce from Alberta\Washington\California. The downside, you start watching something on US Netflix and then boom, next day you're back in Netflix canada.

  17. #157
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Calgary, AB
    My Ride
    lester van
    Posts
    152
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Just got an email - "Starlink is now available for order to a limited number of users in your coverage area."

    $650 for hardware, $130/month, ETA for my area mid to late 2021. As much as I want to try it, I pay a lot less for Telus smarthub so won't be switching over just yet I guess.

  18. #158
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    2008 Z06
    Posts
    3,378
    Rep Power
    18

    Default

    I got the Starlink update today too, same thing. My cheap telus smart hub ($80/month) is good enough for now (netflix, Teams video chat, etc). But it's nice to have a faster option via Starlink.

  19. #159
    Thaco's Avatar
    Thaco is offline sucks off little boys (ya, don't fuck with rage2 bitch!!!)
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    Rage2
    Posts
    3,736
    Rep Power
    15

    Default

    yep i got 2 emails as well, but it's not worth $130 (plus $700 hardware) for 50-150m.. can get better than that for cheaper with other means
    User title molested by Rage2.

    Quote Originally Posted by rage2 View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    It's not the size that matters, it's the taste it leaves in your mouth.

  20. #160
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Not the NE
    My Ride
    Blue Dabadee
    Posts
    6,267
    Rep Power
    46

    Default

    I just signed up for mid to late 2021
    Originally posted by Thales of Miletus

    If you think I have been trying to present myself as intellectually superior, then you truly are a dimwit.
    Originally posted by Toma
    fact.

Page 8 of 9 FirstFirst ... 7 8 9 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. SpaceX falcon 9 barge test

    By nzwasp in forum Society / Law / Current Events / Politics
    Replies: 9
    Latest Threads: 05-06-2016, 07:23 AM
  2. SpaceX - Grasshopper 325m Test

    By supe in forum General
    Replies: 36
    Latest Threads: 07-09-2013, 08:55 AM
  3. Spacex Falcon1 successfully launches satellite

    By alloroc in forum Society / Law / Current Events / Politics
    Replies: 4
    Latest Threads: 07-16-2009, 01:19 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •