Quantcast
Shaw Mobility - Beyond.ca - Car Forums
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 23

Thread: Shaw Mobility

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    MooooooO
    My Ride
    AWD grandpa wagon
    Posts
    2,177
    Rep Power
    11

    Default Shaw Mobility

    I totally forgot about Shaw Mobility

    https://www.iphoneincanada.ca/shaw/s...eless-service/

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Calgary,AB
    My Ride
    2015 Kia Forte5 SX
    Posts
    867
    Rep Power
    7

    Default

    What was the point in buying Freedom then.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    Axis powers
    Posts
    2,423
    Rep Power
    12

    Default

    Maybe it becomes the primary brand and freedom becomes the discount less popular but on the same network
    Sig nuked by mod.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 1970
    Location
    YYC
    My Ride
    2 x E Class Benz
    Posts
    21,586
    Rep Power
    34

    Default

    I sure hope they have better coverage.
    Originally posted by SEANBANERJEE
    I have gone above and beyond what I should rightfully have to do to protect my good name

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    calgary / alberta
    My Ride
    VW R32 Turbo
    Posts
    629
    Rep Power
    7

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rage2 View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    I sure hope they have better coverage.
    Lol.
    Originally posted by sputnik
    Cell providers are the next Blockbuster video stores.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    MooooooO
    My Ride
    AWD grandpa wagon
    Posts
    2,177
    Rep Power
    11

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 1970
    Location
    YYC
    My Ride
    2 x E Class Benz
    Posts
    21,586
    Rep Power
    34

    Default

    Pretty interesting and gives reason to be a Shaw customer. Doesn't look like there's any new towers, so it's on Freedom's towers still. Might be a good setup for the parents.
    Originally posted by SEANBANERJEE
    I have gone above and beyond what I should rightfully have to do to protect my good name

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    Axis powers
    Posts
    2,423
    Rep Power
    12

    Default

    I'm definitely going to investigate it for my daughter
    Sig nuked by mod.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    760
    Rep Power
    9

    Default

    How long until the big three offer competing plans ?

    I am at the end of my Bell contract and am looking to save $$$.
    2011 Ram 1500 QC Sport
    2012 Honda Accord EX-L Nav V6 6-Spd

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    2013 Q5
    Posts
    1,830
    Rep Power
    14

    Default

    This must be why i got on email from Telus yesterday where they highlighted why their network is so much better than Freedom's.

    that said, the $0 plan looks really interesting, especially for my mom who doesn't currently have any cell plan.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    2017 Q7, 2013 328 xDrive
    Posts
    117
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Going to put both my parents on the $0 plan. It’s a no brainer since they already have Shaw Internet and right now they are on pay as you go plans from Telus and Speakout. Also the option to add 1GB of data for $10 that can roll over for 90 days.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    A slow bike & an even slower car.
    Posts
    6,349
    Rep Power
    21

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sabad66 View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    This must be why i got on email from Telus yesterday where they highlighted why their network is so much better than Freedom's.

    that said, the $0 plan looks really interesting, especially for my mom who doesn't currently have any cell plan.
    Yea, I thought that was both hilarious and cringey.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Duplex city
    My Ride
    No longer Savage. :(
    Posts
    7,631
    Rep Power
    40

    Default

    So what LTE coverage are they using? They advertise "Coverage across Canada".
    Make the world a radder place, grow a mullet.
    Public Mobile is the best, just like Phil Collins haggard face.

    Quote Originally Posted by The_Rural_Juror
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    no one gives maritimers shit for culturally appropriating donairs.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Calgary, Alberta
    My Ride
    GLC43
    Posts
    8,413
    Rep Power
    20

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ExtraSlow View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    So what LTE coverage are they using? They advertise "Coverage across Canada".
    Just like Freedom, sounds like they will roam on other network when needed.

    The key here is data roaming is included in the cost of the plan. So if you have shitty Freedom signal, you can use Telus with no extra cost.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    Fiesta ST
    Posts
    946
    Rep Power
    9

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Xtrema View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Just like Freedom, sounds like they will roam on other network when needed.

    The key here is data roaming is included in the cost of the plan. So if you have shitty Freedom signal, you can use Telus with no extra cost.
    I thought there was caps on how much you can roam though?
    Nolan

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Calgary, Alberta
    My Ride
    GLC43
    Posts
    8,413
    Rep Power
    20

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by pheoxs View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    I thought there was caps on how much you can roam though?
    Not the way I read it.

    Travelling outside of Shaw’s network coverage in Canada? No worries – roaming in Canada is always included with Shaw Mobile plans. If your phone displays Nationwide it means you are roaming on one of our many partner networks across the country. Our devices automatically transition between Shaw and Nationwide networks to keep you continuously connected. All Shaw Mobile plans include voice, text and mobile data (if applicable) that be used on both the Shaw and Nationwide networks. If accessing mobile data, make sure the settings on your device are correct using the instructions below.
    So 25GB means 25GB wherever you can get a signal, Shaw or not.

    The only CAP I can read is buying extra data will max out at $50/month.
    Last edited by Xtrema; 08-12-2020 at 02:21 PM.

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    South of Calgary
    My Ride
    is broken
    Posts
    764
    Rep Power
    6

    Default

    Wait.. so this 0$ plan.. IS there really no monthly costs? So anyone could get a number for nothing?

    I currently use about 1.6GB per month so my cost could be <$20 a month?

    Eager to see what other people dig up/ experiences.

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    TDi
    Posts
    1,349
    Rep Power
    8

    Default

    I think you have to get the main $45/25gb plan first and then you can add $0 plan with no data
    GO FLAMES GO!

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    South of Calgary
    My Ride
    is broken
    Posts
    764
    Rep Power
    6

    Default

    Yea i realized that after trying to checkout.
    So the prices without a shaw home internet account.
    $15/ month for the 0GB plan
    $85/ month for the 25GB plan.

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Calgary, Alberta
    My Ride
    GLC43
    Posts
    8,413
    Rep Power
    20

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jacky4566 View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Wait.. so this 0$ plan.. IS there really no monthly costs? So anyone could get a number for nothing?

    I currently use about 1.6GB per month so my cost could be <$20 a month?

    Eager to see what other people dig up/ experiences.
    I have not engage Shaw yet but $0 isn't $0 because you need minimum 300Mbps internet plan to qualify.

    And 300Mbps plan is about $10-$15 more now than before. So your 1st line isn't really "free" unless you get grandfathered from older plans.

    But your 2nd to 6th line (I believe you can get up to 6 free lines) are truly free.

    From what I have read, the 1st few weeks was a shit show config wise but may be better once we get closer to back to school and bugs worked out. $45 for 25GB anywhere in Canada isn't that bad either if you don't want to nickle and dime data $10/1GB at a time.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. FS Shaw HD PVR Box and Shaw HD PVR with 1TB external HD

    By DENZILDON in forum Consumer Electronics
    Replies: 3
    Latest Threads: 06-12-2012, 07:21 PM
  2. any SHAW internet experts here? HORRIBLE SHAW INTERNET

    By thetransporter in forum Computers, Consoles, and other Electronics
    Replies: 13
    Latest Threads: 10-23-2009, 01:18 PM
  3. Shaw internet usage? ALSO: SHAW bumps download speed.

    By old&slow in forum Computers, Consoles, and other Electronics
    Replies: 211
    Latest Threads: 03-30-2009, 07:46 PM
  4. WTB: Shaw HD cablebox or PVR and Shaw internet Modem

    By Hanzo in forum Miscellaneous Buy/Sell/Trade
    Replies: 0
    Latest Threads: 04-07-2008, 08:22 AM
  5. Fs: Shaw Digital Box & Shaw Modem

    By crewchaud in forum Miscellaneous Buy/Sell/Trade
    Replies: 4
    Latest Threads: 10-11-2007, 12:01 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •