Quantcast
NAS recommendations (split) - Beyond.ca - Car Forums
Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: NAS recommendations (split)

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Wildflower Ranch
    My Ride
    Neo-Liberal Anarchist Mobile
    Posts
    2,216
    Rep Power
    36

    Default NAS recommendations (split)

    Quote Originally Posted by taemo View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Also do you really need 10TB of local storage, if you have a NAS I would offload some of the data there instead.
    I have the about 7tb filled so far from the 10tb. I can offload that to a NAS and toss a Sabrent Rocket 2TB for working on I guess. There are a couple on sale - a QNAP on newegg and sinology on amazon. Any recommendations?
    Quote Originally Posted by 89coupe View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Beyond, bunch of creme puffs on this board.
    Everything I say is satire.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    rally pig
    Posts
    2,377
    Rep Power
    9

    Default NAS recommendations

    Quote Originally Posted by The_Rural_Juror View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    The wraith prism is supposedly noisier and the 3900x doesn't come with a cooler anyways. I have the about 7tb filled so far from the 10tb. I can offload that to a NAS and toss a Sabrent Rocket 2TB for working on I guess. There are a couple on sale - a QNAP on newegg and sinology on amazon. Any recommendations?

    I haven't heard any coil whine - not that I game a lot anyway. Want to buy my 43" Asus gaming monitor from earlier this year? I want to reconfigure my monitor setup.
    don't have any experience with synology but have some friends that do and they like it, I'm running a qnap ts-469l for over 8 years now and never had any issues other than having gone through 3-4 2TB WD Green (bought them used in the past and keep 3-4 spares haha)
    synlogy/qnap i guess will mostly vary with what apps you plan on running but i they should be similar
    from previous threads, I have cloud sync apps running on the qnap so that some directories gets synced on dropbox, amazon prime and onedrive and also plex.
    my buddy uses it for camera/home monitoring but I use a VM for this.

    calculate how much storage you need and drive redundancy that you need so that you now if 2 bay or 4 bay is sufficient.
    ie 2x10TB raid 1 or 4x4TB raid 5.
    you could also configure your NAS as ISCSI and mount it as a harddrive on your rig.


    I thought about upgrading to 40"+ monitor in the past and asked my wife if I could upgrade but since she's the one primarily using my rig right now for work, she wants to stick to 2 screens.
    Last edited by taemo; 12-26-2020 at 02:11 PM.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Wildflower Ranch
    My Ride
    Neo-Liberal Anarchist Mobile
    Posts
    2,216
    Rep Power
    36

    Default

    This one ok? https://www.newegg.ca/qnap-ts-253d-4...82E16822099100

    I don't Plex or stream stuff. Mostly backing up data and photos.
    I prefer the 43" setup for productivity.
    Quote Originally Posted by 89coupe View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Beyond, bunch of creme puffs on this board.
    Everything I say is satire.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    rally pig
    Posts
    2,377
    Rep Power
    9

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by The_Rural_Juror View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    This one ok? https://www.newegg.ca/qnap-ts-253d-4...82E16822099100

    I don't Plex or stream stuff. Mostly backing up data and photos.
    I prefer the 43" setup for productivity.
    that 253D looks nice, 2.5gbps nic means you'll need to upgrade switch if you want to take advantage of full speed but that's nice to have, upgradable RAM too and pcie slot for other upgrades if needed.
    what drives are you planning to get, 2x10TB?

    btw you can also access your NAS from your mac

    this is half the price https://www.newegg.ca/qnap-ts-231k-us/p/N82E16822099099
    which might be also sufficient for your need but specs are pretty weak, especially 1GB RAM

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    Fiesta ST
    Posts
    967
    Rep Power
    13

    Default

    I want a Nas in the near future as well. I run Plex server on my PC but wanna seperate the storage and preferably run sonarr and radarr directly on the Nas. I believe I have to go Synology for that?

    If I get a 2 bay Synology can I drop drives in that have media on them or does it need to format them first? Trying to figure out how to move my 8+10tb drives into something.
    Nolan

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    rally pig
    Posts
    2,377
    Rep Power
    9

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by pheoxs View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    I want a Nas in the near future as well. I run Plex server on my PC but wanna seperate the storage and preferably run sonarr and radarr directly on the Nas. I believe I have to go Synology for that?

    If I get a 2 bay Synology can I drop drives in that have media on them or does it need to format them first? Trying to figure out how to move my 8+10tb drives into something.
    have no experience but sonarr and radarr looks to be available for qnap too.
    2 years ago I did a purge on my NAS and kept only few movies not available for streaming, the ones I kept I encoded them with handbrake to h.264 and h.265 and stream them from NAS to the TV via Plex. (takes less space than MKV and lighter on the resource to stream)

    you'll need to build a RAID array with the drives so it will be formatted. backup your data on some temporary drives then copy them on the NAS afterwards.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    2011 lexus is250 awd
    Posts
    441
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    For anyone looking for a NAS memory express has the 420+ for sale.
    I'm probably biased to Synology as I'm running an old 1812+ and it's been solid. Set up docker and run everything you need (Sonar, DNS Server, VPN)

    https://www.memoryexpress.com/Products/MX00113035

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Wildflower Ranch
    My Ride
    Neo-Liberal Anarchist Mobile
    Posts
    2,216
    Rep Power
    36

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Asian_defender View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    For anyone looking for a NAS memory express has the 420+ for sale.
    I'm probably biased to Synology as I'm running an old 1812+ and it's been solid. Set up docker and run everything you need (Sonar, DNS Server, VPN)

    https://www.memoryexpress.com/Products/MX00113035
    I read that with if a QNAP fails, the only way to get retrieve the data is with another QNAP. Is that true?
    Quote Originally Posted by 89coupe View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Beyond, bunch of creme puffs on this board.
    Everything I say is satire.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    rally pig
    Posts
    2,377
    Rep Power
    9

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by The_Rural_Juror View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    I read that with if a QNAP fails, the only way to get retrieve the data is with another QNAP. Is that true?
    you could mount them on a linux box
    https://forum.qnap.com/viewtopic.php?t=89672

    same with synology though from what i recall

    my qnap has been running for 8 years now with no issues

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    2011 lexus is250 awd
    Posts
    441
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by The_Rural_Juror View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    I read that with if a QNAP fails, the only way to get retrieve the data is with another QNAP. Is that true?
    Taemo is correct, both can be recovered through Linux if you install the raid management drivers. This will apply even if you use the synology SHR raid (which I recommend as it allows for drives of various sizes as long as you have 2 or SHR1 or 4 for SHR2)
    https://www.synology.com/en-ca/support/RAID_calculator

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Calgary AB
    My Ride
    2020 Subaru Forester Sport
    Posts
    2,637
    Rep Power
    12

    Default

    Why not just get something like this instead, especially if it's just for storage? Run all your apps you want in a Windows Server environment. I run a 16 bay enclosure at home with storage Windows Storage spaces myself, run Sonarr, Plex, Deluge, etc on it. Standard Windows apps, standard windows file system. Linux is a pain in the ass if you don't have Linux experience.

    This is one tower I am selling on Kijiji, seems to give you so much more flexibility. More than enough for OPs use case, with flexibility to upgrade to whatever hardware you want in the future and not be limited by these small NAS devices.

    https://www.kijiji.ca/v-view-details...dId=1513170354

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    South of Calgary
    My Ride
    is broken
    Posts
    755
    Rep Power
    7

    Default

    Synology SHR raid is dope shit especially if your cheap like me with a random collection of drive sizes.
    I have the DS918+ for a few years now and its been awesome.

    Network share for 8TB backups and media serving.
    Plex Server. It seems to do fine transcoding up to 1080p but 4k is no go. Raw file serving 4k is no problem.
    RSS bit torrent downloader. Does great auto downloading stuff and decompressing it for plex.

    There is also a bunch of remote access stuff and other features i dont use but nice to know I could set it up.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    YYC
    My Ride
    06 S2000
    Posts
    4,876
    Rep Power
    14

    Default

    Been using my 412+ for years now. Would love to upgrade to something with a bit more power, but I have 10TB of storage across 4 disks running RAID 5, and run almost my entire docker setup on it as well.
    I wish I had a slot for SSD cache without giving up space for a platter drive, but it was just being introduced when I picked this up.
    Quote Originally Posted by heavyfuel View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    That's why I just say I have a 4" dick and lift weights to make up for it.

Similar Threads

  1. Chinese restaurant recommendations (split)

    By Buster in forum Food and Dining
    Replies: 33
    Latest Threads: 07-22-2020, 01:40 PM
  2. Split threads (split)

    By tirebob in forum Suggestion/Comment Box/Forum Related Stuff
    Replies: 17
    Latest Threads: 01-11-2019, 10:22 AM
  3. FS: 1 LG NAS & 2 Buffalo Nas

    By Vdubbin in forum Computer Hardware & Peripherals
    Replies: 2
    Latest Threads: 05-05-2016, 08:37 PM
  4. Replies: 3
    Latest Threads: 01-17-2009, 10:02 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •