Quantcast
Unplugged Woodworking / Japanese Tools - Beyond.ca - Car Forums

Thread: Unplugged Woodworking / Japanese Tools

My Ride
    Boeing, Airbus

Default Unplugged Woodworking / Japanese Tools

After 15 years of travel, I'm finally planning to settle in Spain for a while. One of the hobbies I've missed the most is woodworking - it's a challenging hobby when constantly on the move given the necessary space and tools.

My current thought is to get into "unplugged" woodworking (i.e. no power tools) so I can focus on small detail pieces and not need to spend a fortune on tools that I may not be able to move with in the future.

Any Beyonders into Japanese joinery or hand tool woodworking?

I'm just beginning to research the Japanese square, saws, chisels, and planes I'll need to get started on my first projects.

My main projects will likely be a tool chest, picture frames, desk/workbench, cutting board, and perhaps a barrel bar for my whisky and glassware collection.

@davidI Yep! I am someone who is very much all about the neanderthal woodworking. Personally prefer the western style tools over the Japanese style tools for the most part, especially when it comes to saws and planes, but I am not anti or pro one in general and I do have some of both although predominantly Western. When it comes to hand sharpening though, I love my Japanese water stones!

I have some serious modern heirloom tools, as well as finding, restoring and using antique tools. Some of the very best tools were built a hundred years ago or more.

Do you have any tools yet or just starting to go down the road?
    Last edited by tirebob; 01-01-2021 at 12:40 PM.

My Ride
    Boeing, Airbus

@tirebob - you sound like my kind of guy! Happy there is someone else around with an interest in the craftsmanship of generations gone-by.