Quantcast
New Freezer. Extension Cord Use? - Beyond.ca - Car Forums
Page 1 of 3 1 2 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 52

Thread: New Freezer. Extension Cord Use?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Calgarian Living in Edmonton
    My Ride
    93 240sx SE, 17 Infiniti Q50S, 2008 Highlander
    Posts
    6,419
    Rep Power
    16

    Default New Freezer. Extension Cord Use?

    Purchased a new freezer from Costco last week.

    Finally brought her down to the basement and unboxed her and was getting ready to set it up only to realize, I have no useable outlets where I wanna put it. Basement is unfinished.

    Only have 2 outlets down there. 1 outlet is by the stairs that is currently used by the sump pump and my CO2 sensor.

    2nd remaining outlet is bolted onto where my breaker panel is, on the wall, directly beside my water heater and furnace.

    Ideally I would like to put it near the stairs but that would require a long ass extension and reading owners manual says "DO NOT USE" extension cord on this. Plug into grounded 3 prong outlet only is recommended.

    Googling says don't use long cord due to voltage drop, which can cause damage to the motor. So I can move it close to the breaker panel and get a small 3-6" cord but it must be 10-12 gauge. Do not use 14-16 as it will overheat and cant handle the load and fire etc.

    Okay to use cord? Teach me Beyond old gurus. I dont wanna burn my house down

    Or just place freezer in garage and be done.
    Originally posted by GTS Jeff
    You know those bored stay at home moms who's entire lives revolve around driving their kids to soccer, various cleaning accessories, and worrying about neighbourhood rapists? The kind of people that watch the View and go "uh huh..." Those unfulfilled people who try to fill the void in their empty lives by writing whiny letters to the editor complaining about shit that no one really cares about?

    Well imagine if instead of writing that letter to the editor, she just posts on a car forum for car enthusiasts. That's Kritafo.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Location
    Calgmonton/AB
    Posts
    1,275
    Rep Power
    37

    Default

    How big a freezer? If it's a giant, white-trash-Karen, coffin-sized freezer, then its giant motor is really going to hate voltage drop.
    Fire is less likely than the motor simply dying early.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Calgarian Living in Edmonton
    My Ride
    93 240sx SE, 17 Infiniti Q50S, 2008 Highlander
    Posts
    6,419
    Rep Power
    16

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ThePenIsMightier View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    How big a freezer? If it's a giant, white-trash-Karen, coffin-sized freezer, then its giant motor is really going to hate voltage drop.
    Fire is less likely than the motor simply dying early.
    Just a small 5.1Cu one from Costco here https://www.costco.ca/danby-designer...100472464.html
    Originally posted by GTS Jeff
    You know those bored stay at home moms who's entire lives revolve around driving their kids to soccer, various cleaning accessories, and worrying about neighbourhood rapists? The kind of people that watch the View and go "uh huh..." Those unfulfilled people who try to fill the void in their empty lives by writing whiny letters to the editor complaining about shit that no one really cares about?

    Well imagine if instead of writing that letter to the editor, she just posts on a car forum for car enthusiasts. That's Kritafo.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Location
    Calgmonton/AB
    Posts
    1,275
    Rep Power
    37

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by dj_rice View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Just a small 5.1Cu one from Costco here https://www.costco.ca/danby-designer...100472464.html
    So many words and zero mention of the motor size! Anywhere!!! I even downloaded the manuals! That's weird.

    Ummm... I would probably get a heavier gauge extension cord and use it wherever.
    I'm a bad person with bad ideas and others shouldn't do what I do.
    Come to think of it, I think I've been using a window Air conditioner with a cord (not a long one) for years and those are near 1,500W... This is like saying "Gramma smoked for 70 years, so it must be ok" or virtually 90% of the CoVid threads, but... There it is.

    A cash electrician could add a roughed-in outlet for cheap. I'll see if I can remember a contact from Edmonton.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Duplex
    My Ride
    Phanbus
    Posts
    8,555
    Rep Power
    50

    Default

    Unfinished basement, yeah why not just add some outlets? So easy, most homeowners could do it themselves, or an electrician could do it really fast.
    Quote Originally Posted by killramos View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    If there is one thing I know for sure. ES has no Aspen goals

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    Silverado
    Posts
    2,692
    Rep Power
    18

    Default

    Would a heavy gauge extension cord have a higher voltage drop compared to the wiring from the panel to the outlet?

    edit..
    that's enough thinking. Still on vacation. time for messing around with fun things.
    Last edited by dirtsniffer; 12-29-2020 at 10:58 AM.
    Quote Originally Posted by Gestalt View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Im the one with a learning disability....

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Filthy south
    My Ride
    bus
    Posts
    667
    Rep Power
    9

    Default

    Buy one of these at the dollar store and plug it in


  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Calgary AB
    My Ride
    car2go
    Posts
    2,805
    Rep Power
    20

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ExtraSlow View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Unfinished basement, yeah why not just add some outlets? So easy, most homeowners could do it themselves, or an electrician could do it really fast.
    This

    If by some chance you donít want the outlets at their location someday when you finish your basement and have to add more, there is still little to no regret spend, as more outlets are always better.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Not the NE
    My Ride
    Literally Nothing
    Posts
    6,030
    Rep Power
    44

    Default

    Do people really think an extension cord is worse voltage drop than the in wall wiring to get there?

    I agree with the “just add another outlet” completely, I’m also fascinated by the idea that adding a some extra feet of cord is going to do anything.
    Originally posted by Thales of Miletus

    If you think I have been trying to present myself as intellectually superior, then you truly are a dimwit.
    Originally posted by Toma
    fact.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Calgary AB
    My Ride
    car2go
    Posts
    2,805
    Rep Power
    20

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by killramos View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Do people really think an extension cord is worse voltage drop than the in wall wiring to get there?

    I agree with the “just add another outlet” completely, I’m also fascinated by the idea that adding a some extra feet of cord is going to do anything.
    It's not any worse if you use the right gauge extension cord. But the instructions/manufacturer have to account for the fact that some doofus out there is going to try using 100' 16ga to plug it in.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    RX300
    Posts
    700
    Rep Power
    9

    Default

    i got the same freezer, and same deal in my basement.

    since it's a smaller freezer i just went with the extension cord from my breaker panel
    trying is the first step towards failure


  12. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Cochrane, AB
    My Ride
    Trucks
    Posts
    1,557
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    Just use 12 gauge, any length is fine. Half the commercial coolers and freezers on the planet are on extension cords and they have no issue.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Not the NE
    My Ride
    Literally Nothing
    Posts
    6,030
    Rep Power
    44

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by cjblair View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    It's not any worse if you use the right gauge extension cord. But the instructions/manufacturer have to account for the fact that some doofus out there is going to try using 100' 16ga to plug it in.
    Got it, people are stupid, just seemed like a ridiculous conversation to me.
    Originally posted by Thales of Miletus

    If you think I have been trying to present myself as intellectually superior, then you truly are a dimwit.
    Originally posted by Toma
    fact.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Calgarian Living in Edmonton
    My Ride
    93 240sx SE, 17 Infiniti Q50S, 2008 Highlander
    Posts
    6,419
    Rep Power
    16

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by saiyajin View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    i got the same freezer, and same deal in my basement.

    since it's a smaller freezer i just went with the extension cord from my breaker panel

    Done deal! Just needed confirmation from people before I went ahead

    As for adding outlets, I guess I cant just add outlets though? Basement isnt even framed. Just bare concrete walls.
    Last edited by dj_rice; 12-29-2020 at 02:55 PM.
    Originally posted by GTS Jeff
    You know those bored stay at home moms who's entire lives revolve around driving their kids to soccer, various cleaning accessories, and worrying about neighbourhood rapists? The kind of people that watch the View and go "uh huh..." Those unfulfilled people who try to fill the void in their empty lives by writing whiny letters to the editor complaining about shit that no one really cares about?

    Well imagine if instead of writing that letter to the editor, she just posts on a car forum for car enthusiasts. That's Kritafo.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    2006 Nissan Titan
    Posts
    191
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by cjblair View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    It's not any worse if you use the right gauge extension cord. But the instructions/manufacturer have to account for the fact that some doofus out there is going to try using 100' 16ga to plug it in.
    Even still, I bet it wouldn't be a problem.
    Last edited by arcticcat522; 12-29-2020 at 04:52 PM. Reason: Auto correct made me say the wrong thing.

  16. #16
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Wildflower Ranch
    My Ride
    Neo-Liberal Anarchist Mobile
    Posts
    2,216
    Rep Power
    36

    Default

    I bet none of you are qualified to answer this Electrical EIT question.
    Quote Originally Posted by 89coupe View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Beyond, bunch of creme puffs on this board.
    Everything I say is satire.

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    DT 780
    My Ride
    LEXUS LX470
    Posts
    952
    Rep Power
    11

    Default

    The instructions state not to use extension cord for 2 main reasons.

    1. If you undersize the extension cord you can overload it and cause a fire. The breaker must match the size of extension cord used.
    2. Even if you size the cord correctly, there is a risk that the cord at some point gets pulled, yanked, moved, etc. This can cause a high resistance connection at the appliance cord to extension cord interface. This high resistance connection can cause a fire and your breaker wont do shit to protect you from this.

    Source: electrical engineer/fire investigator

    (Investigated this exact scenario with a small chest freezer in garage plugged in via extension cord)
    Tap, Rack, BANG!

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Cochrane, AB
    My Ride
    Trucks
    Posts
    1,557
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by littledan View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    The instructions state not to use extension cord for 2 main reasons.

    1. If you undersize the extension cord you can overload it and cause a fire. The breaker must match the size of extension cord used.
    2. Even if you size the cord correctly, there is a risk that the cord at some point gets pulled, yanked, moved, etc. This can cause a high resistance connection at the appliance cord to extension cord interface. This high resistance connection can cause a fire and your breaker wont do shit to protect you from this.

    Source: electrical engineer/fire investigator

    (Investigated this exact scenario with a small chest freezer in garage plugged in via extension cord)
    Well, a breaker won’t protect against a high resistance slow burn in any scenerio, including the actual wall receptacle and any splices along the way. The only additional risk I can imagine with use of an extension cord is food loss from accidental unplugging.

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Calgary AB
    My Ride
    2020 Subaru Forester Sport
    Posts
    2,637
    Rep Power
    12

    Default

    I have one of the same size from same company and it's been running through a power bar for 10 years... Its been fine. My freezer is just below and to the left of my central vac so just used an a power bar to extend the high plug for the central vac down enough to plug this in. No issues.

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Location
    Calgmonton/AB
    Posts
    1,275
    Rep Power
    37

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by killramos View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Got it, people are stupid, just seemed like a ridiculous conversation to me.
    They're not stupid. China makes the 20 gauge, 30m cord and DurGubmint let's Wal-Mart sell it to us.
    The CEC has allowances based on the assumption of ____m of 14-2 run throughout a house accounting for a certain amount of (tolerable) voltage drop.
    Connect a >10A large freezer compressor to your 100' Wal-Mart extension with an additional shitty connection within it and you've got some voltage drop that is no longer insignificant.

Page 1 of 3 1 2 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. WTT: Small Chest Freezer for Larger Freezer

    By cidley69 in forum Miscellaneous Buy/Sell/Trade
    Replies: 0
    Latest Threads: 08-28-2011, 09:44 AM
  2. iPod/iPhone extension cord

    By cam_wmh in forum Computers, Consoles, and other Electronics
    Replies: 13
    Latest Threads: 06-29-2011, 05:14 PM
  3. stolen extension cord

    By wintonyk in forum General
    Replies: 20
    Latest Threads: 01-04-2010, 10:53 PM
  4. New Firefox Extension: QuickChat

    By Merkur in forum Computers, Consoles, and other Electronics
    Replies: 24
    Latest Threads: 01-11-2006, 12:12 AM
  5. Replies: 0
    Latest Threads: 01-31-2003, 03:05 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •