Quantcast
Rogers vs Telus in AB/BC coverage - Beyond.ca - Car Forums

Thread: Rogers vs Telus in AB/BC coverage

My Ride
    EG Si Hatch

Default Rogers vs Telus in AB/BC coverage

Hello folks, it has been literally forever since I last visited Beyond and I thought this would be a great place to ask on everyones opinions on Rogers vs. Telus for wireless service.

Currently running Telus 5G on iPhone 12 Pro. Service seems decent though I'd argue that unless you're directly beside a 5G tower that you're likely only ever going to experience LTE speeds for the most part. I'm new to the 5G wireless world but the experience at least for my uses seems seamless and not any better than LTE with my previous iphone 8. I bought an iPhone 12 with the hope of taking advantage of 5G service when it becomes more mainstream (if it hasn't been already).

I have an offer from Rogers that I'm interested in signing up for but they don't offer 5G but they offer MORE data and costs less per month. While it sucks they don't have 5G for this particular plan I am wanting that I'm not so sure if 5G is a real selling point for the typical mobile user.

My question is:
    1. How reliable is Rogers relative to Telus? Do you guys find Rogers is lacking in coverage in comparison to the big T? Do you often get dead spots or drop calls or signal breakup? I sometimes get that with Telus which is odd since they're touted as having some of the best coverage around.
    2. How is customer service between the 2? I've heard horror stories from both ends but I rarely, if ever call into the customer care center for anything anyways.
    3. Are network speeds comparable?

I mainly hang in Calgary/Edmonton and do several trips by car to Vancouver and Vancouver Island. I should also add that I do hang in K-country (known to not have much cell service from any provider) and I ski at all the ski hills along the BC/Alberta borders.

I do not need any hardware upgrades since I purchased my iPhone in November.