Quantcast
Crypto Mining Thread - Page 8 - Beyond.ca - Car Forums
Page 8 of 17 FirstFirst ... 7 8 9 ... LastLast
Results 141 to 160 of 325

Thread: Crypto Mining Thread

  1. #141
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Cowtown
    My Ride
    10' 4Runner SR5
    Posts
    5,855
    Rep Power
    23

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by taemo View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    I'll give it a try later today, can you run this along with Afterburner?



    heard about it on the news this morning, hopefully it increase profitability for the rest of miners, still lots of dirty miner factories in China though.



    all you need is a motherboard with multiple PCI-E 1x slots and then grab a 1x to 16x riser adapters
    https://www.memoryexpress.com/Products/MX67227

    bought a couple when they were on sale at MemExp for 15$ each.

    so if your current rig has multiple PCI-E 1x slots that are not blocked by your current videocard, start mining. Check your PSU too though
    This is the board I'm working with still: Asus P8P67 Deluxe with Corsair professional 750w PS. I have a wireless adapter hooked up I'm not even using so that could go. 3 Total PCI-E x16 slots but the bottom would probably be tight...
    PXL_20210301_203005085.jpg
    Follow me on Instagram and Facebook!

  2. #142
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    rally pig
    Posts
    2,389
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by msommers View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    This is the board I'm working with still: Asus P8P67 Deluxe with Corsair professional 750w PS. I have a wireless adapter hooked up I'm not even using so that could go. 3 Total PCI-E x16 slots but the bottom would probably be tight...
    PXL_20210301_203005085.jpg
    you have a pretty solid PSU, you should be able to run 2-3 cards on it

    Looks likeP8P67 Deluxe has 3x PCI-E 16x and 2x PCI-E 1x, nice!
    Maybe with open case, lots of fans and good airflow you can run 3 GPUs no problem in there.
    Your 2nd PCI-E 1x is being blocked by the top videocard, you might be able to access it with a 1x extension cable if you want to run 5x GPU with your current hardware

    edit: just check your MOBO's manual to figure out how to effectively use all your PCI-E slots.
    also you can link multiple PSUs if for example 750W is not enough for how many GPUs you plan to run.
    Last edited by taemo; 03-01-2021 at 03:22 PM.

  3. #143
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Cowtown
    My Ride
    10' 4Runner SR5
    Posts
    5,855
    Rep Power
    23

    Default

    Hard to say because of supply but I was hoping maybe 2 or 3 at most. Sucks my 970 doesn't mine effectively enough.
    Follow me on Instagram and Facebook!

  4. #144
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    YYC
    My Ride
    06 S2000
    Posts
    4,900
    Rep Power
    14

    Default

    That's a mirror of my old i7-2600 setup. Same mobo, similar PSU, identical card.

    I have my wife's old cpu/mobo/ram lying around. Tempted to buy a case/psu, slap a cheap/spare HDD in there and get mining, but that would only be if I replaced the 1080 in her current setup with a 30XX card.
    Or, I can shove more into the Z820, it has an 1125w PSU.
    Quote Originally Posted by heavyfuel View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    That's why I just say I have a 4" dick and lift weights to make up for it.

  5. #145
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    calgary.ab.ca
    My Ride
    E90M3 510 Wagon
    Posts
    7,660
    Rep Power
    26

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by LilDrunkenSmurf View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    That's a mirror of my old i7-2600 setup. Same mobo, similar PSU, identical card.

    I have my wife's old cpu/mobo/ram lying around. Tempted to buy a case/psu, slap a cheap/spare HDD in there and get mining, but that would only be if I replaced the 1080 in her current setup with a 30XX card.
    Or, I can shove more into the Z820, it has an 1125w PSU.
    Iím getting 36Mh/s on eth with a 1080... google ethlargementpill, helps immensely with the gddr5x memory on those, the ti and the titan xp

    ...I mean, yes... sell the 1080, Iíll take it off your hands

  6. #146
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    YYC
    My Ride
    06 S2000
    Posts
    4,900
    Rep Power
    14

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ercchry View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    I’m getting 36Mh/s on eth with a 1080... google ethlargementpill, helps immensely with the gddr5x memory on those, the ti and the titan xp

    ...I mean, yes... sell the 1080, I’ll take it off your hands
    When I had the 1080 in my current gaming rig, it would black screen after around 30 mins of mining. And I hadn't really mined before that. It also doesn't like CPU mining, and I'm not even getting that hot, so I'm not sure what's up.
    Quote Originally Posted by heavyfuel View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    That's why I just say I have a 4" dick and lift weights to make up for it.

  7. #147
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Calgary, Alberta
    Posts
    962
    Rep Power
    7

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by LilDrunkenSmurf View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    When I had the 1080 in my current gaming rig, it would black screen after around 30 mins of mining. And I hadn't really mined before that. It also doesn't like CPU mining, and I'm not even getting that hot, so I'm not sure what's up.
    I could be wrong, but I don't think you can monitor hot spots on the memory of the 1080.
    Whatever temp your GPU core is at, your memory is probably getting much hotter.

    For example on my 3090 my GPU core temp under full load mining is around 54C while the hotspot on the memory can reach up to 74C

    This could explain the black screen if the hotspot is getting way too hot.

  8. #148
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    YYC
    My Ride
    06 S2000
    Posts
    4,900
    Rep Power
    14

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Ukyo8 View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    I could be wrong, but I don't think you can monitor hot spots on the memory of the 1080.
    Whatever temp your GPU core is at, your memory is probably getting much hotter.

    For example on my 3090 my GPU core temp under full load mining is around 54C while the hotspot on the memory can reach up to 74C

    This could explain the black screen if the hotspot is getting way too hot.
    I think it's only the 30XX series that have the memory heating issues, due to the high memory speeds. I know the 3080 has similar issues, and I monitor it specifically to stay under 90*.
    Quote Originally Posted by heavyfuel View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    That's why I just say I have a 4" dick and lift weights to make up for it.

  9. #149
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    calgary.ab.ca
    My Ride
    E90M3 510 Wagon
    Posts
    7,660
    Rep Power
    26

    Default

    If he is clocking it like a 3000 series, that’s probably it. Tried that, it hates it

  10. #150
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    Fiesta ST
    Posts
    985
    Rep Power
    13

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by LilDrunkenSmurf View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    I think it's only the 30XX series that have the memory heating issues, due to the high memory speeds. I know the 3080 has similar issues, and I monitor it specifically to stay under 90*.
    3080+ only, it's only on the gddr6x cards (3080/3090) not the gddr6x cards (3060/3070)
    Nolan

  11. #151
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    rally pig
    Posts
    2,389
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    curious to hear the mining temperature of your guys GPUs

    3070 - 51C constant on my main rig

    5700XT - 36C
    3060Ti - 42C
    1060 - 41C
    these 3 are on my mining rig in the basement and I don't like seeing the temps going high 40s for the 2 NVDIA cards haha. the 5700XT is not going over 39C at the moment.
    fans on the NVIDIA are running 70-80%, I could have them run also at 50C with reduced fan speed.

  12. #152
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Calgary, Alberta
    Posts
    962
    Rep Power
    7

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by LilDrunkenSmurf View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    I think it's only the 30XX series that have the memory heating issues, due to the high memory speeds. I know the 3080 has similar issues, and I monitor it specifically to stay under 90*.
    I think I got lucky because it rarely touches 74C while overclocked +1000 on memory, typically stays around 71-72C
    I've read of other people hitting 90C+

  13. #153
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    YYC
    My Ride
    06 S2000
    Posts
    4,900
    Rep Power
    14

    Default

    3080 - 48*C GPU, ~86-90*C memory. Using NHQM to keep that at 90* max.
    Gaming rig in the basement.
    1070 - 46*C. Sitting in a workstation in my mechanical room in my "network cabinet", that's mining/running docker containers/running plex.
    Quote Originally Posted by heavyfuel View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    That's why I just say I have a 4" dick and lift weights to make up for it.

  14. #154
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    Fiesta ST
    Posts
    985
    Rep Power
    13

    Default

    Gaming comp:
    3060 ti - 56C

    Mining comp:
    3070 (top) - 65C
    3070 (bottom) - 45C
    Nolan

  15. #155
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    rally pig
    Posts
    2,389
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    I adjusted my fan curve so that my GPUs are running 45-55C with reduced fan speed (40-60%).
    will see how temperature changes mid-day as that's when it is warmest

  16. #156
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    calgary.ab.ca
    My Ride
    E90M3 510 Wagon
    Posts
    7,660
    Rep Power
    26

    Default

    Was able to grab a 1080 ti today... more than doubling my hashrate!

    Still have to play with settings, should be getting a little more out of the ti... but for having less into these cards than the MSRP on a 3080, not upset

    C530EA07-16C0-4E13-82A3-67467BC76308.jpg

  17. #157
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    Fiesta ST
    Posts
    985
    Rep Power
    13

    Default

    Does anyone follow Eth dev as a whole? More chatter about EIP-1559 is surfacing lately with potentially trying to include it this summer.

    TL;DR: Restructure the Eth fees to adjust the fees to be more predictable but also burn some of the transaction fees as a form of slowing down inflation. Looks like it could hurt miners profitability quite a bit. Currently rewards are 2ETh block reward + 2.2Eth transaction fees. If some or more of the transaction fees are burnt that'd be a huge hit to profitability.

    https://github.com/ethereum/EIPs/blo...PS/eip-1559.md
    Nolan

  18. #158
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    calgary.ab.ca
    My Ride
    E90M3 510 Wagon
    Posts
    7,660
    Rep Power
    26

    Default

    So switched to 2miner eth pool today from NH... since I force NH to only mine eth anyways... holy, averaging about double what NH was paying me so far

    Got great stats yet as I was having some issues sorting out multi cards in this machine, but been a few hours now and it’s still holding

  19. #159
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    Fiesta ST
    Posts
    985
    Rep Power
    13

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ercchry View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    So switched to 2miner eth pool today from NH... since I force NH to only mine eth anyways... holy, averaging about double what NH was paying me so far

    Got great stats yet as I was having some issues sorting out multi cards in this machine, but been a few hours now and it’s still holding
    Curious to hear your results after a day or so. I notice huge fluctuations depending on the times. Like 25$/day for parts of the day down to 15$/day for parts. 24hr avg settles to around 19$/day.
    Nolan

  20. #160
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Calgary, Alberta
    Posts
    962
    Rep Power
    7

    Default

    NH Miner went offline while I'm at work, is it because of the new user agreement kicking in?

Page 8 of 17 FirstFirst ... 7 8 9 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Is this person mining crypto on my network??

    By mr2mike in forum Computers, Consoles, and other Electronics
    Replies: 34
    Latest Threads: 07-10-2019, 01:55 PM
  2. 2018 Crypto Profolio Challange

    By Kobe in forum Real Estate / Finance
    Replies: 111
    Latest Threads: 09-23-2018, 01:14 PM
  3. Ndax.io - soft launch - crypto exchange

    By Vanish3d in forum Real Estate / Finance
    Replies: 8
    Latest Threads: 07-04-2018, 02:08 PM
  4. Cogeneration for crypto...

    By nzwasp in forum Real Estate / Finance
    Replies: 15
    Latest Threads: 05-05-2018, 03:34 AM
  5. Children Mining Copper and Cobalt for China in Congo

    By Schwa in forum Society / Law / Current Events / Politics
    Replies: 8
    Latest Threads: 07-24-2008, 01:34 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •