Quantcast
Harmony remotes discontinued - Beyond.ca - Car Forums
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 31

Thread: Harmony remotes discontinued

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 1970
    Location
    YYC
    My Ride
    2 x E Class Benz
    Posts
    22,166
    Rep Power
    48

    Default Harmony remotes discontinued

    https://www.techhive.com/article/361...l-remotes.html

    Game over. There is no replacement for what harmony is leaving behind. Fuck.
    Originally posted by SEANBANERJEE
    I have gone above and beyond what I should rightfully have to do to protect my good name

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Calgary, Alberta
    My Ride
    (maah raahde)
    Posts
    5,667
    Rep Power
    26

    Default

    That fucking sucks. I'm still using my first Harmony One and have even bought NOS ones that come up periodically.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Not the NE
    My Ride
    Blue Dabadee
    Posts
    6,395
    Rep Power
    49

    Default

    Fuck

    Can’t say I’m surprised as they clearly have been getting almost 0 attention for a while.

    At least I still have 1 working ultimate and 1 working elite set.

    I don’t see how “steaming services” means I don’t need a universal remote. What do they think I use them for lol
    Originally posted by Thales of Miletus

    If you think I have been trying to present myself as intellectually superior, then you truly are a dimwit.
    Originally posted by Toma
    fact.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    1,336
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    I wonder if they price is gonna go up or down. I'd buy some hubs for backup legacy use with Google/Alexa.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Location
    Egg Sammich
    Posts
    1,516
    Rep Power
    46

    Default

    That's shitty. I got a broken one from an outlaw that I tried to fix, but failed. They really seemed to be a superior device.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Duplex
    My Ride
    Ignore List
    Posts
    9,006
    Rep Power
    50

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by killramos View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    I don’t see how “steaming services” means I don’t need a universal remote. What do they think I use them for lol
    Not the same, but remember when I was buying a cheapo tv? Ended up with a Roku tv? Turns out I can use that one Roku TV remote for all my streaming services. It's a very good system. Doesn't access my Telus box, obvs.

    I feel like I'm sold on Roku tv.
    Quote Originally Posted by Tik-Tok View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    I'd be lying if I said I didn't disagree.
    Quote Originally Posted by suntan View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    His name isn't NICEramos.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Calgary AB
    My Ride
    2020 Subaru Forester Sport
    Posts
    2,638
    Rep Power
    12

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by phreezee View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    I wonder if they price is gonna go up or down. I'd buy some hubs for backup legacy use with Google/Alexa.
    Probably down, as eventually they will discontinue the ability to program these things. I have an old Harmony 800 in a box that I had for sale on Kijiji forever, noone wanted it, so it still sits here collecting dust. I use a newer Harmony Ultimate One myself now, hope it continues to be of use for a while longer.

    Quote Originally Posted by ExtraSlow View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote

    I feel like I'm sold on Roku tv.
    Bought one for parents when their old TV died. They used standalone Roku boxes before so the switch to a Roku TV was very easy. I like how the inputs are just another tile so it's easy for them to know what's what, with live preview within the tile.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Not the NE
    My Ride
    Blue Dabadee
    Posts
    6,395
    Rep Power
    49

    Default

    Built in streaming apps are the worst way to stream.

    I use the ones in my frame and the bugginess is terrible. Need to get another Apple TV for it to fix that.

    I do 80%+ of my streaming with a separate box hooked up to cable boxes, AVRS, Music sources, TVs. Nothing even out there in terms of a complicated home theatre. If I didn’t have a universal remote I’d have to go open my media closet every time I need to change the volume.
    Originally posted by Thales of Miletus

    If you think I have been trying to present myself as intellectually superior, then you truly are a dimwit.
    Originally posted by Toma
    fact.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Airdrie
    My Ride
    '05 Cororra, '16 Rex, '21 F-150
    Posts
    253
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Geez, doesn't even seem like there's one to panic purchase in Canada...

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 1970
    Location
    YYC
    My Ride
    2 x E Class Benz
    Posts
    22,166
    Rep Power
    48

    Default

    Stock has been gone for a while. I’ve been trying to replace my aging 900 that’s on its last legs for months.

    I’m trialing my simpler setups to a single Apple TV remote using cec but changing inputs are a fucking pain. For a home theater with 6 devices harmony is the only solution.
    Originally posted by SEANBANERJEE
    I have gone above and beyond what I should rightfully have to do to protect my good name

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Calgary/Alberta
    My Ride
    F150, Tiguan R, Triumph Tiger XRT
    Posts
    929
    Rep Power
    12

    Default

    I lucked out and got 2 companions with 2 hubs for basically pocket change a couple weeks ago. Needed them to run MAG emulation on my google TV and Nvidia shield because of their crappy remotes, and no other remotes do bluetooth control. Super finicky to program like every Harmony device I've ever had but once it was up and running they're irreplaceable. Really big market hole being left! Was surprised to read this this morning
    sig deleted by moderator, click here for info

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Calgary, AB
    Posts
    767
    Rep Power
    11

    Default

    Wicked.

    I'm going to start my own line then. There's a huge market for proper remote controls.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Cowtown
    My Ride
    10' 4Runner SR5
    Posts
    5,855
    Rep Power
    23

    Default

    Fuck I need to find a replacement just in case the one I have ever breaks haha
    Follow me on Instagram and Facebook!

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    '18 Murano
    Posts
    536
    Rep Power
    7

    Default

    Shit. Damn good products. Doubt any other company will take over to fill the void.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    Legacy Spec B
    Posts
    116
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Saw that this morning too and spent an hour looking for a possible replacement with no luck . Could rig something up with an IR blaster and a phone app... but that'll be terrible.
    Just bought an extra battery for my harmony remote. Here's hoping it never dies

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Jan 1970
    Location
    YYC
    My Ride
    2 x E Class Benz
    Posts
    22,166
    Rep Power
    48

    Default

    The remotes are well built, last a long time. I’ve only had a 900 die on me, and that’s from a spilt drink. Not surprised they weren’t making money on them when we rarely buy new remotes.

    A monthly sub model would’ve worked maybe, but I’m sure everyone would balk at that. Since there are no other options they might’ve gotten away with it.
    Originally posted by SEANBANERJEE
    I have gone above and beyond what I should rightfully have to do to protect my good name

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Airdrie
    My Ride
    6.2 / 690
    Posts
    130
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Wow that's a bummer. Funny I was just thinking of how I need a universal remote last week.... So what are other options?

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Not the NE
    My Ride
    Blue Dabadee
    Posts
    6,395
    Rep Power
    49

    Default

    Control4?
    Originally posted by Thales of Miletus

    If you think I have been trying to present myself as intellectually superior, then you truly are a dimwit.
    Originally posted by Toma
    fact.

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Jan 1970
    Location
    YYC
    My Ride
    2 x E Class Benz
    Posts
    22,166
    Rep Power
    48

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by killramos View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Control4?
    Might as well pick up a Taycan along with it haha.
    Originally posted by SEANBANERJEE
    I have gone above and beyond what I should rightfully have to do to protect my good name

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Calgary/Alberta
    My Ride
    F150, Tiguan R, Triumph Tiger XRT
    Posts
    929
    Rep Power
    12

    Default

    I have a harmony 650 cheap if anyone wants it
    sig deleted by moderator, click here for info

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. FS: 2 Logitech Harmony 1100 touch screen universal remotes

    By S-FLY in forum Consumer Electronics
    Replies: 1
    Latest Threads: 12-03-2013, 09:25 AM
  2. Logitech Harmony universal remotes

    By D'z Nutz in forum Computers, Consoles, and other Electronics
    Replies: 40
    Latest Threads: 12-29-2009, 03:13 PM
  3. Harmony remotes and the PS3?

    By ZMan2k2 in forum Computers, Consoles, and other Electronics
    Replies: 2
    Latest Threads: 04-13-2008, 10:30 AM
  4. FS: 2 Harmony Remotes

    By Jlude in forum Miscellaneous Buy/Sell/Trade
    Replies: 7
    Latest Threads: 08-22-2007, 06:33 PM
  5. Logitech Harmony 880 Remotes...

    By RC-Cola in forum Computers, Consoles, and other Electronics
    Replies: 13
    Latest Threads: 12-10-2005, 12:21 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •