Quantcast
Acquiring 6/3 Electrical Wire - Beyond.ca - Car Forums
Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Acquiring 6/3 Electrical Wire

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Strathmore
    My Ride
    2005 Dirtymax
    Posts
    1,979
    Rep Power
    13

    Default Acquiring 6/3 Electrical Wire

    Anyone got a reputable source or know someone who has 6/3 wire with solid ground in stock? I've talked to a few places and visited a few more but it seems most people just don't have it.

    I have 6/3 with stranded ground but trying to get it grounded to the box is a major pain in the arse.

    I am only in need of 3-4 feet as its a short run from the box to the panel.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Not Aspen
    My Ride
    teslo murdel free
    Posts
    3,690
    Rep Power
    20

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Not Aspen
    My Ride
    Two from Freemont
    Posts
    9,521
    Rep Power
    34

    Default

    Mine is stranded.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    Summer car or work truck
    Posts
    375
    Rep Power
    9

    Default

    I might have some....4ft?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Strathmore
    My Ride
    2005 Dirtymax
    Posts
    1,979
    Rep Power
    13

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by arcticcat522 View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    I might have some....4ft?
    Let me know.. 4 feet would do.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Location
    ES Art Room
    My Ride
    #SadLife
    Posts
    2,693
    Rep Power
    85

    Default

    You could "tin it" (I believe the term is). Essentially carefully melt solder to permeate the strands and when it hardens, it will behave similarly to a solid conductor.

    But don't, because dissimilar metals and creep and house fire.

    But do, because it's just a box "ground" and who gives a fuck

    other-guys-creep.gif

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    Summer car or work truck
    Posts
    375
    Rep Power
    9

    Default

    It's stranded....sorry dude

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    341
    Rep Power
    18

    Default

    I don't get why the stranded is causing an issue. Use a mechanical ground lug and put it on and tighten the screw. I just ran new 6/3 for induction cooktop and had to use a mech lug bolted to the panel ground bus. Pretty easy.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Strathmore
    My Ride
    2005 Dirtymax
    Posts
    1,979
    Rep Power
    13

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rinny View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    I don't get why the stranded is causing an issue. Use a mechanical ground lug and put it on and tighten the screw. I just ran new 6/3 for induction cooktop and had to use a mech lug bolted to the panel ground bus. Pretty easy.
    Its not the panel side that is the issue its the actual metal box for the receptacle. Between the 6/3 wire running in and how stiff it is.. trying to put anything else into the box is way too tight.

    I have picked up one of these (https://www.princessauto.com/en/50a-...t/PA0008953515) for now which works but will be still looking for the wire as I plan to move the panel in the spring.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    341
    Rep Power
    18

    Default

    Oh got it. I think I used an 8x8x6 box for mine since I had that and a 3c8. And yea it was definitely tight. Are you using a 4x4 box? Prob need a 6x6 deep box minimum. Would have to check code for exact requirements. You can also get box extenders to get some more space but obvs will stick out from wall.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    6.7 CUMMINS
    Posts
    4,811
    Rep Power
    26

    Default

    Check with Anixter. Do you have a specific need for a solid #6 ground? I have never seen this cable myself.
    Machining, Fabricating, Welding etc.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Strathmore
    My Ride
    2005 Dirtymax
    Posts
    1,979
    Rep Power
    13

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by legendboy View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Check with Anixter. Do you have a specific need for a solid #6 ground? I have never seen this cable myself.
    Like I said.. just makes it easier to ground to the receptacle box. I maybe missing something obvious (never said I was a great electrician), I just found trying to ground 6awg or whatever size it was to the ground screw just never seemed to stay secured.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Calgary AB
    My Ride
    V8s
    Posts
    3,468
    Rep Power
    43

    Default

    As mentioned, you should probably be using a lug.

    Something tells me you shouldn’t be DIYing whatever needs that much power if you can’t crack this nut. But that’s none of my business.

Similar Threads

  1. Acquiring Roommate.

    By swak in forum General
    Replies: 15
    Latest Threads: 12-16-2014, 02:37 PM
  2. Acquiring Tax Money from US Government (Gambling Winnings

    By lasimmon in forum Real Estate / Finance
    Replies: 5
    Latest Threads: 05-15-2014, 12:50 PM
  3. Acquiring Real Estate by Adverse possesion

    By ZenOps in forum Real Estate / Finance
    Replies: 10
    Latest Threads: 04-27-2011, 06:42 AM
  4. Connected but stuck on acquiring network address

    By Old Snake in forum Computer Help Desk
    Replies: 10
    Latest Threads: 09-08-2009, 12:53 PM
  5. Suncor close to acquiring Petro-Canada

    By roopi in forum Society / Law / Current Events / Politics
    Replies: 35
    Latest Threads: 07-28-2009, 04:27 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •