Quantcast
Macbook/iMac dock help - Beyond.ca - Car Forums
Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Macbook/iMac dock help

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    S.E. (not the drrty south)
    My Ride
    Natural gas, and natural gas accessories
    Posts
    8,022
    Rep Power
    71

    Default Macbook/iMac dock help

    So since covid started, my wife's WFH setup was using her personal iMac (2019 27"), with a LG extended monitor. Her new employer supplied her with a Macbook (2021 16" M1), which she's supposed to be using for all her work related stuff. So far, she hates it, stepping down 11" is annoying enough, let alone using the shitty keyboard on a Macbook vs a regular one.

    It's easy enough to use the iMac and LG plugged directly into the Macbook as extended monitors, and the stand-alone wired keyboard, BUT she also needs to keep using her own iMac for her side-gig stuff. Right now to do that, we have to unplug everything from the Macbook, and plug it all back into the iMac. Obviously not ideal.

    Will a dock solve this problem? ie When the Macbook is plugged into a dock, the iMac and LG will be usable as extended displays, and keyboard functional on the Macbook, but when the Macbook is disconnected, the LG will revert to an extended monitor for the iMac, and the keyboard reverts to being usable on the iMac?
    Quote Originally Posted by killramos View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    The AHS system is quite good.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    YYC
    My Ride
    06 S2000
    Posts
    5,104
    Rep Power
    26

    Default

    The M1 mac only supports a single extended display, so a dock would sort of help, but you could only use the LG monitor (I have no idea on how to use the iMac as a monitor).
    I would suggest just a simple USB-C dongle with an HDMI output or something, and tie into the second input on the extended monitor, and maybe a USB-switcher for the mouse/keyboard, if they're wired. You can buy 3rd party docks that will let you use more monitors, but it really abuses the CPU, and you need to install DisplayLink software, which will require admin rights.
    Quote Originally Posted by heavyfuel View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    That's why I just say I have a 4" dick and lift weights to make up for it.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Homeless
    My Ride
    Blue Dabadee
    Posts
    8,216
    Rep Power
    79

    Default

    This sounds exactly like what a kvm switch was invented for.
    Originally posted by Thales of Miletus

    If you think I have been trying to present myself as intellectually superior, then you truly are a dimwit.
    Originally posted by Toma
    fact.
    Quote Originally Posted by Yolobimmer View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote

    guessing who I might be, psychologizing me with your non existent degree.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    S.E. (not the drrty south)
    My Ride
    Natural gas, and natural gas accessories
    Posts
    8,022
    Rep Power
    71

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by killramos View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    This sounds exactly like what a kvm switch was invented for.
    I know on a typical PC, that would work exactly how we want it to, but with the iMac being "all-in-one", I didn't know if it would or not.
    Quote Originally Posted by killramos View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    The AHS system is quite good.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Homeless
    My Ride
    Blue Dabadee
    Posts
    8,216
    Rep Power
    79

    Default

    You aren’t going to get the iMac to work with the MacBook, it’s better to just led that dream slide.

    I think Thunderbolt Display mode is kindof a thing. But end of the day the MacBook M1 doesn’t support 2 external displays, so no way you will be able to get that to work AND another external it doesn’t support.

    So imo use the single LG external with a KVM/dock and call it a day. Buy a second one and use the workarounds if you are desperate for 2 screens.
    Originally posted by Thales of Miletus

    If you think I have been trying to present myself as intellectually superior, then you truly are a dimwit.
    Originally posted by Toma
    fact.
    Quote Originally Posted by Yolobimmer View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote

    guessing who I might be, psychologizing me with your non existent degree.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Calgary, AB
    Posts
    1,330
    Rep Power
    35

    Default

    Does the dock have a foreskin?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 1970
    Location
    YYC
    My Ride
    1 x E Class Benz
    Posts
    22,977
    Rep Power
    101

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by LilDrunkenSmurf View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    The M1 mac only supports a single extended display, so a dock would sort of help, but you could only use the LG monitor (I have no idea on how to use the iMac as a monitor).
    I would suggest just a simple USB-C dongle with an HDMI output or something, and tie into the second input on the extended monitor, and maybe a USB-switcher for the mouse/keyboard, if they're wired. You can buy 3rd party docks that will let you use more monitors, but it really abuses the CPU, and you need to install DisplayLink software, which will require admin rights.
    16” MBP M1 (as well as the 14”) supports multiple displays. Only the M1 MBA and the base 13” MBP are limited to single display.
    Originally posted by SEANBANERJEE
    I have gone above and beyond what I should rightfully have to do to protect my good name

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Homeless
    My Ride
    Blue Dabadee
    Posts
    8,216
    Rep Power
    79

    Default

    I missed the 16”.

    Rage is right you should have more options.

    Edit: sounds like apple killed off target display mode in 2015. So just accept that using the iMac isn’t going to be an option.

    Maybe replacing the iMac with a Mac mini and another monitor (using dock /kvm) might be an option?

    Last ditch option? https://astropad.com/product/lunadisplay/
    Last edited by killramos; 07-06-2022 at 10:32 AM.
    Originally posted by Thales of Miletus

    If you think I have been trying to present myself as intellectually superior, then you truly are a dimwit.
    Originally posted by Toma
    fact.
    Quote Originally Posted by Yolobimmer View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote

    guessing who I might be, psychologizing me with your non existent degree.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    S.E. (not the drrty south)
    My Ride
    Natural gas, and natural gas accessories
    Posts
    8,022
    Rep Power
    71

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by killramos View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    I
    Maybe replacing the iMac with a Mac mini and another monitor (using dock /kvm) might be an option?
    That's what I'm starting to think is the easiest option.
    Quote Originally Posted by killramos View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    The AHS system is quite good.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 1987
    Location
    SK
    My Ride
    Fit Dugan Signature (2016)
    Posts
    3,263
    Rep Power
    100

    Default

    @Disoblige is the local docking expert it seems.
    Originally posted by SJW
    Once again another useless post by JRSCOOLDUDE.
    Originally posted by snowcat
    Don't let the e-thugs and faggots get to you when they quote your posts and write stupid shit.
    Originally posted by JRSC00LUDE
    I say stupid shit all the time.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Victoria Park
    My Ride
    '16 FoRS, '09 UZN215, '90 Z32, '15 Grom
    Posts
    4,025
    Rep Power
    52

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by JRSC00LUDE View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    @Disoblige is the local docking expert it seems.
    I scout for extra long docks and see if they want to be in the industry. Found a candidate today; hope he is ready to be rich and famous.

Similar Threads

  1. FS: Factory Unlocked Nexus One /w Desktop dock & Car dock

    By monkgs in forum Cellular Products
    Replies: 0
    Latest Threads: 08-25-2011, 06:49 PM
  2. FS: Used Apple iMac/MacBook/Pro RAM

    By tacsniper in forum Computer Hardware & Peripherals
    Replies: 0
    Latest Threads: 01-13-2010, 05:46 PM
  3. Sell my iMac to get Macbook?

    By e36bmw/// in forum Computers, Consoles, and other Electronics
    Replies: 4
    Latest Threads: 12-09-2008, 02:27 PM
  4. 1GB iMac / Macbook Apple DDR2 Ram

    By nicknamefij in forum Computer Hardware & Peripherals
    Replies: 0
    Latest Threads: 10-04-2008, 11:14 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •