Quantcast
Using cell phones from overseas - Beyond.ca - Car Forums
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Using cell phones from overseas

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Calgary, Alberta
    My Ride
    (maah raahde)
    Posts
    5,667
    Rep Power
    26

    Default Using cell phones from overseas

    Does anyone know what's the possibility of getting a cell phone from somewhere like Hong Kong and unlocking it to use here (particularily on the Telus network)? Are the phones over there relatively cheap?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    calgary
    My Ride
    06 RX8 SE
    Posts
    1,182
    Rep Power
    11

    Default

    i think you need to buy a Tri-band.. and when i was in Hk over the summer.. the only tri-band they got was

    T68i
    V60
    V66
    -- some crap phone---

    the T68i was 3088
    v60 was 2800
    V66 was 2500

    In HK dollar... im not super if u need to unlock it

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    NOR/CAL
    My Ride
    a nice pair of and1's
    Posts
    1,669
    Rep Power
    11

    Default

    i think most cell systems overseas use GSM phones, so unfortunately if you want to use it on the TELUS system, you're going to be SOL...

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    CowTown
    My Ride
    Brick Type R, SC AW11, Alcyone
    Posts
    1,435
    Rep Power
    11

    Default

    I have a motorolla v-8160 from hong kong that came from hong kong. its a digital vader, but when i used it under telus, it became analog only...
    omgwtfbbq

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Calgary, Ab
    Posts
    1,933
    Rep Power
    11

    Default

    Phones aren't cheaper in HK, just cooler. Also, even if you can get a phone unlocked, the software Telus has to install onto your phone most likely will not work. I know a few people who tried to bring phones over, all they have is a neat looking toy that collects dust.
    Damn +44411's

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    calgary
    Posts
    322
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Finding a phone from overseas that will actually work on the telus network is gonna be next to impossible due to the fact that they all operate on different software that has to be in the phone. If telus does not carry that phone then there isn't gonna be a telus software that is gonna make it work and if it does work, it's gonna be roaming all the time cause you can't write in the Telus preffered roaming list.

    If you're gonna get a phone from overseas, just get a GSM and go off Rogers or Fido, just pop in the SIM card and you're ready to go. It'll save you the headache

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Calgary, AB
    My Ride
    2Look slk
    Posts
    924
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    I've brought back every single one of my phones from Hong Kong except for the V70. The only reason I didn't get the V70 from hk was b/c I was too impatient to wait a month to get it there.

    If you are the type of person that likes to sign on contracts, then phones are cheaper in Canada since the operator network absorbs most of the cost of the phone.

    However, if you were to buy the entire phone out with no contract, then phones in Hong Kong are a lot cheaper. As well, they always have the latest phones that aren't available in Canada yet.

    As for using the phone in Canada, it is best to buy a world phone (GSM- tri band) or a GSM phone with 1900 mhz, which means using it on a GSM network (Fido, Rogers).

    The costs to unlock a phone in Canada are ridiculous. They charge about $200. You can unlock it at one of my dad's factories in hk and he only charges $2!! (let me know if you need to) When I go back next month I am unlocking two V70's for use with the Fido network. Rogers GSM sucks!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Calgary, Alberta
    My Ride
    (maah raahde)
    Posts
    5,667
    Rep Power
    26

    Default

    Thanks for the responses everyone. I won't even bother than. I figured if it was cheaper and it worked over here, why not? I'd prefer to stick with Telus anyways, but maybe I'll look into what Fido has to offer since my contract will be up next year.

Similar Threads

  1. Illegal to use cell phones while driving?

    By ninjak84 in forum Computers, Consoles, and other Electronics
    Replies: 19
    Latest Threads: 12-07-2002, 10:31 PM
  2. Cell Phones

    By Davetronz in forum Computers, Consoles, and other Electronics
    Replies: 17
    Latest Threads: 09-26-2002, 04:44 PM
  3. any cell phones for sale?

    By GT2NV in forum Miscellaneous Buy/Sell/Trade
    Replies: 22
    Latest Threads: 08-31-2002, 09:03 PM
  4. repairing cell phones

    By boi-alien in forum General
    Replies: 8
    Latest Threads: 07-24-2002, 10:36 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •