Quantcast
BIG speeding ticket - Beyond.ca - Car Forums
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: BIG speeding ticket

My Ride
    xs11

Default BIG speeding ticket

I.ve read almost all the posts here about fighting speeding tickets, so here's my situation. Last month I was on my bike, heading south on Macleod Trail. Just past the 22x overpass, I had a momentary loss of insanity and decided to go for my absolute top speed ever on the same bike I've been riding for over 15 years. At about 180km/h and still accelerating, I see this motorcyclist in the northbound lane motioning me to shut it down. Unfotunately for me, it was too late, and just up the road is a motorcycle cop with a lazer on his bike, he was just standing in the middle of my lane, helmet off, waiting for me to join him in what was to be my worst nightmare. I calmly came to a stop where he was standing, and shut of the bike. He was so mad I thought he was going to punch me. He told me to give me my keys, and remove my helmet. Luckily, all my papers were in order, so the ticket writing part went pretty smoothly. I was super respectful to him, so he gave me back my keys, and a mandatory court appearance ticket for speeding at 183km/h in a posted 80km/h zone. In the square where it states the amount of the fine, he wrote 'court'. So i'm due to appear J.P. counter in a while,
    and I got a quote from Charlie at Pointts for just under $500. How should I go about fighting this ticket? Does it look favourable to the crown that my drivers abstact is clean? I fought a photo radar ticket last year and got it reduced to 60%, and the year before that I fought a speeding ticket and the cop failed to show.
    The guy at pointts said that I'm facing a possible suspention and a fine of over $750, of course, he wants my business, so any advise? links? books? I admit that I was wrong, but I'm not just going to roll over and play dead for this one.
    thanks,
    ken

My Ride
    1 x E Class Benz