Quantcast
low impedance injectors on a saturated ecu - Beyond.ca - Car Forums
Results 1 to 17 of 17

Thread: low impedance injectors on a saturated ecu

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    Acura CL
    Posts
    217
    Rep Power
    0

    Default low impedance injectors on a saturated ecu.. HELP

    ive read that others use resistor boxes from old hondas, that would be simple but im running 6 injectors.

    anyone know of a car that would have a 6 pack resistor box???

    or are there any other options???

    thanks
    Last edited by wontonjohnny; 10-08-2004 at 03:05 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 1970
    Location
    YYC
    My Ride
    2 x E Class Benz
    Posts
    21,081
    Rep Power
    5

    Default

    Make your own resistor box.
    Originally posted by SEANBANERJEE
    I have gone above and beyond what I should rightfully have to do to protect my good name

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    oreo cookie
    My Ride
    a wrx.
    Posts
    8,022
    Rep Power
    26

    Default

    Originally posted by rage2
    Make your own resistor box.
    this way u can pick the proper impedance for the injectors. who knows if honda resistors or whatever will give u the right impedance.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    Acura CL
    Posts
    217
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    is it safe to make your own??? dont resistors get super hot???

    you guys are talking about radioshack reisitors and splicing it in right???

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    a van down by the river
    Posts
    1,871
    Rep Power
    19

    Default

    Originally posted by wontonjohnny
    is it safe to make your own??? dont resistors get super hot???

    you guys are talking about radioshack reisitors and splicing it in right???
    yep lots of hondas run this way with no problems

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    oreo cookie
    My Ride
    a wrx.
    Posts
    8,022
    Rep Power
    26

    Default

    Originally posted by wontonjohnny
    is it safe to make your own??? dont resistors get super hot???

    you guys are talking about radioshack reisitors and splicing it in right???
    if u are worried about heat u can build a crazy cooling fin setup onto the box.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    91 PP1 - 93 EH6 - 01 BB6
    Posts
    1,842
    Rep Power
    18

    Default

    Although low impedance peak and hold will run with an resistor box and ecu designed for high impedance saturated type injectors, the actual operation is determined by the injector driver in the ecu. Without p&h drivers the low impedance injector will run in saturated mode. For most setups this is not really a problem until you start using larger injectors and want lower fueling resolution in tuning lower rpm fuel and throttle maps.
    I believe MSD makes resistor packs that accomodate for 6 and 8 cyl vehicles.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    Acura CL
    Posts
    217
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    am i supposed to splice the resistor on the ecu line or the power line???

    ive searched online and seen other do it both ways.. which is correct?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Back in Calgary! WOOT
    My Ride
    GD + GR WRB
    Posts
    2,659
    Rep Power
    20

    Default

    I was gonna ask this question too.. I have some low impedance 450cc injectors from a dsm that I want to run when I install my new turbo. The RB20det has high impedance injectors stock, so I was going to build a resistor box.

    Is it as simple as measuring the resistance on the stock and new injectors and using a resistor of the proper resistance to make them the same?

    Sorry if I make no sense, too much christmas cheer!
    Bought not built!

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    FORD F-350 SUPER DUTY > ALL
    Posts
    728
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Originally posted by wontonjohnny
    am i supposed to splice the resistor on the ecu line or the power line???

    ive searched online and seen other do it both ways.. which is correct?
    ecu/injector harness

  11. #11
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    a van down by the river
    Posts
    1,871
    Rep Power
    19

    Default

    Originally posted by wontonjohnny
    am i supposed to splice the resistor on the ecu line or the power line???

    ive searched online and seen other do it both ways.. which is correct?
    does not matter

  12. #12
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    6.7 CUMMINS
    Posts
    4,734
    Rep Power
    23

    Default

    You can use 10w 10ohm resistors. I had a pic of my first setup running these but i have no idea where it is.
    Machining, Fabricating, Welding etc.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    Acura CL
    Posts
    217
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Originally posted by redline


    does not matter
    are you 100% postive???

    so if i splice these in at the ecu harness it will be ok???

  14. #14
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    6.7 CUMMINS
    Posts
    4,734
    Rep Power
    23

    Default

    Here is a half assed pic. They are zip tied to the fuel rail
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Machining, Fabricating, Welding etc.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    cAlGaRy
    My Ride
    Honda Z50 Daily Driver
    Posts
    593
    Rep Power
    18

    Default

    Originally posted by wontonjohnny


    are you 100% postive???

    so if i splice these in at the ecu harness it will be ok???
    yeah it doesnt matter, I have mine on the positive, but either way will work

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    calgary
    Posts
    48
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Originally posted by legendboy
    You can use 10w 10ohm resistors. I had a pic of my first setup running these but i have no idea where it is.
    Radio shack no longer sells them. They are discontinued. Just use 2 honda resistor boxs, it will work fine.

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    Acura CL
    Posts
    217
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Originally posted by coolcat123


    Radio shack no longer sells them. They are discontinued. Just use 2 honda resistor boxs, it will work fine.
    you can get them at active components on 32nd NE

Similar Threads

  1. How low is TOO low?

    By flatfourfan in forum Cosmetic and Styling Modifications
    Replies: 29
    Latest Threads: 10-24-2004, 06:12 PM
  2. peak and hold or saturated injectors?

    By rice_eater in forum Performance Modifications
    Replies: 16
    Latest Threads: 03-18-2004, 10:53 AM
  3. low boost w/ med compression vs. high boost w/ low compression?

    By Ekliptix in forum General Car/Bike Talk
    Replies: 3
    Latest Threads: 11-14-2002, 08:12 PM
  4. WTB injectors

    By Dirty_SOHC in forum Miscellaneous Buy/Sell/Trade
    Replies: 0
    Latest Threads: 08-10-2002, 01:37 PM
  5. Need Injectors!!!!

    By shadowz in forum General Car/Bike Talk
    Replies: 3
    Latest Threads: 07-16-2002, 03:06 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •