Quantcast
Disabling DRL - Beyond.ca - Car Forums
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 21

Thread: Disabling DRL

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Ca
    My Ride
    323Ci
    Posts
    49
    Rep Power
    0

    Default Disabling DRL

    Anyone know who can help me disable these? dealers won't do it and i dont want to disconnect the bulbs.

  2. #2
    Clem's Avatar
    Clem is offline FLAMESFAN 4LIFE-Canes in 4
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Edmonton, Alberta Canada
    My Ride
    Turbo AWD Sled
    Posts
    421
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Can't do it on Canadian cars. It's not an option on the Canadian version of the dealers MoDiC and DIS computers. If it was the US it'd be a different story.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Ca
    My Ride
    323Ci
    Posts
    49
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    damn

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Ca
    My Ride
    323Ci
    Posts
    49
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    hey clem are your drl's on?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Calgary, ab
    My Ride
    Hemi, ZX6R
    Posts
    2,504
    Rep Power
    19

    Default

    Originally posted by Clem
    Can't do it on Canadian cars. .
    then how come i dont have em? you can manually do it, but its required by law for all cars in canada to have DRL...Pull the drl fuse(s), or get a wiring diagram and figure out exactly how the DRL is activated, and disable it. I've done it on my cars.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Ca
    My Ride
    323Ci
    Posts
    49
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    I think clem meant you cant disable them through the computer programing for BMW's like the US versions

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Victoria, BC
    Posts
    1,398
    Rep Power
    19

    Default

    I believe the DRL's are controlled via a relay. There is a non-DRL relay for E36's(which was standard on US models) but I don't know about the E46's..

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Ca
    My Ride
    323Ci
    Posts
    49
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    yah, for the e36's you were able to swap those relays to disable them but not on the e46's

  9. #9
    Clem's Avatar
    Clem is offline FLAMESFAN 4LIFE-Canes in 4
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Edmonton, Alberta Canada
    My Ride
    Turbo AWD Sled
    Posts
    421
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    yeah mine are still on unfortunately.

    ryder I was referring to E46 BMWs. I don't have them on my 2k F-F150 either

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Calgary, ab
    My Ride
    Hemi, ZX6R
    Posts
    2,504
    Rep Power
    19

    Default

    Yeah, i was thinking most cars in general or the old e36s. So are they just computer programed? only way to disable would be to get someone with computer program i take it?

  11. #11
    Clem's Avatar
    Clem is offline FLAMESFAN 4LIFE-Canes in 4
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Edmonton, Alberta Canada
    My Ride
    Turbo AWD Sled
    Posts
    421
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    On E46s they are programmed into the light control module

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Ca
    My Ride
    323Ci
    Posts
    49
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    hey clem, do you ever remember reading a post maybe on e46fanatics about using a resistor in the bulbs place?

  13. #13
    Clem's Avatar
    Clem is offline FLAMESFAN 4LIFE-Canes in 4
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Edmonton, Alberta Canada
    My Ride
    Turbo AWD Sled
    Posts
    421
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Originally posted by BMWilli
    hey clem, do you ever remember reading a post maybe on e46fanatics about using a resistor in the bulbs place?
    I think that was to have the corner lights off with the running lights.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Edmonton
    Posts
    266
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Originally posted by Clem


    I think that was to have the corner lights off with the running lights.
    I think that mod is to have the corner lights run off the side lights, so that they don't come on with the headlights, but still signal.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Edmonton
    Posts
    266
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    BMWilli.
    You should be able to pull your bulbs and then pull fuse #32 so that you don't get the burnt out bulb notification. However then you won't have highbeams..... the choice is yours

    http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthr...running+lights

    PS- I am wjjeeper on fanatics.

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    calgary
    My Ride
    335i / 69' Beaumont / 240sx
    Posts
    275
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    As far as I understood the computers at the stealership CAN turn them of but it's illigal for them to do so....so they wont...I've always though it strolling up to the tech guy when I get my tune-up and sliding a few 20's in his shirt saying "just turn em off.....no one will know"...LOL.
    sig deleted by moderator, click here for info

  17. #17
    Clem's Avatar
    Clem is offline FLAMESFAN 4LIFE-Canes in 4
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Edmonton, Alberta Canada
    My Ride
    Turbo AWD Sled
    Posts
    421
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Originally posted by Chrisw
    As far as I understood the computers at the stealership CAN turn them of but it's illigal for them to do so....so they wont...I've always though it strolling up to the tech guy when I get my tune-up and sliding a few 20's in his shirt saying "just turn em off.....no one will know"...LOL.
    Nope.

    I sat with George at Bavaria for 45 minutes looking through the DIS/MoDiC looking for the setting. It's not available.

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Calgz
    My Ride
    Stock 240sx fastback SE
    Posts
    1,282
    Rep Power
    19

    Default

    theres no fuse in my 2000 nissan but there is one in my 1992 nissan..

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Edmonton
    Posts
    266
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Originally posted by SpoonEK9
    theres no fuse in my 2000 nissan but there is one in my 1992 nissan..
    Uhhh okay

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    vc
    My Ride
    vsm ej8
    Posts
    209
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    why the big obsesion with disabling

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. 93 Jeep GC DRL's

    By 5.9 R/T in forum Mechanical
    Replies: 3
    Latest Threads: 07-08-2004, 04:47 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •