Quantcast
One subwoofer to put in my trunk - Beyond.ca - Car Forums
Results 1 to 19 of 19

Thread: One subwoofer to put in my trunk

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    451
    Rep Power
    21

    Default One subwoofer to put in my trunk

    I have been planning to take out my spare tire and put in a fiberglass enclosure. Currently i run 2 12JL W0 bridged to a MTX amp(forget which model), my plan is to put in either a 10 or 12 high end sub something like the JL W7 series.

    Any suggestions on what size and speaker to go with? I would prefer something that won't require too much room(since i'm putting it in my spare tire area) and can be use in a sealed enclosure.

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    4cyl turbo diesel with a max speed of 10.9kmh
    Posts
    1,583
    Rep Power
    22

    Default

    the jl w7 is way to deep i think to fit in the wheel well..go with maybe a w6? or a good rockford/mtx 12"...that would be my pic.


    CONCRETE PATIO SPECIAL, PM ME FOR DETAILS!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Mckenzie
    My Ride
    jdm d16b
    Posts
    493
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Rockford hx2 12"

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    403
    Posts
    7,364
    Rep Power
    28

    Default

    yea im thinking of switching from 2 10's to 1 12.
    I want it to hit the lower beats, right now it i get too much rumble from the subs hitting not low enough beats.
    Did that make sense?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    403
    My Ride
    UFA
    Posts
    10,333
    Rep Power
    47

    Default

    Originally posted by buh_buh
    yea im thinking of switching from 2 10's to 1 12.
    I want it to hit the lower beats, right now it i get too much rumble from the subs hitting not low enough beats.
    Did that make sense?
    I don't get it.....you mean there is too much vibration inside the trunk?

    That is why you need dynomat!
    Conversations like this can be intense.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    403
    Posts
    7,364
    Rep Power
    28

    Default

    no, it hits the beats that aren't that low.
    like there will be constant bass instead of a thumping. Konw waht I mean?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Okotoks North
    Posts
    3,847
    Rep Power
    101

    Default

    A bigger sub has a lower frequency response to hit the lower notes, but have you tried tweaking your current setup with your deck? (ie. lower the range that goes to your sub so its not constantly going?)
    ---

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    403
    Posts
    7,364
    Rep Power
    28

    Default

    yeah, that's why i want to get a bigger sub, so it'll only hit the lower notes.
    Right now its hitting too many notes.

    I should try to fiddle around with the settings, but that means I gotta read the manual, haha.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Okotoks North
    Posts
    3,847
    Rep Power
    101

    Default

    If you don't tweak the settings, a single bigger sub is still going to hit too many notes. You need to lower the crossover frequency to like 60Hz or so... yours is probably in the 80 range? Just a guess tho haha.
    ---

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    403
    Posts
    7,364
    Rep Power
    28

    Default



    I have no clue how to do the settings, but I'm pretty sure I know how to change the Hz on the bass. I'll take a look.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    MDX
    Posts
    2,139
    Rep Power
    22

    Default

    it all depends on your box. If you want really low bass, try a ported or a bandpass box. It will really boom, but you lose some woofer control.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Airdrie
    My Ride
    CH9
    Posts
    307
    Rep Power
    20

    Default

    If you are looking at doing one 12 then go get your self an alpine type R best bang for the buck on the market period!!! They work great in a sealed enclosure as long as you have enough power. And they are somewhat shallow so the can go in your spare tire well.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    2000 Civic SE
    Posts
    117
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    If you have an area close to one cubic foot then get a boston acoustic 1200 competitor sub. I regret getting rid of mine. You could probably pick one up for about 400 bucks or so. One is all you need. They recommend a 1000watt monoblock amp to power it. Its hits hard and sounds very very good. And doesnt need a big enclosure.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Chinatown
    My Ride
    FJC, S30
    Posts
    2,375
    Rep Power
    22

    Default

    no man.. dont do that.. get the jl w7 or the w6.. they both sound great.. plus u can buy one 12 inch in a box that was made by JL.. at soundsaround.. im pretty sure that can fit in ur turnk.. the box was customly made for the sub alone.. so it sounds great..
    Submaker.Illest.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Chinatown
    My Ride
    FJC, S30
    Posts
    2,375
    Rep Power
    22

    Default

    and about the hz thing.. there should be a settin on ur deck.. depends what deck you have.. that should let you change the settin
    Submaker.Illest.

  16. #16
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    403
    Posts
    7,364
    Rep Power
    28

    Default

    tried to find it.
    Couldn't.
    Anyone wanna gimme a hand?

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Saskatoon SK.
    My Ride
    00 GSX-R 600
    Posts
    30
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Yup... boston rules... I have to sell my Pro Series 12.5 LF because it's the wrong coil configuration for my new amp (I need 2 ohm, it is four) so if anyone is interested, it's brand new and I'll take 260+ shipping for it... it retails at 300 american...


    Oh and as for the crossover, do it at your amp. There should be a marked knob on one end of the amp that says crossover. Turn it doooowwwn... 50-60 hz and you will be much happier
    00 GSX-R 600
    It ain't stock.

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Chinatown
    My Ride
    FJC, S30
    Posts
    2,375
    Rep Power
    22

    Default

    i dont think his amp has that..
    Submaker.Illest.

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    289
    Rep Power
    20

    Default

    in terms of depth, you should check out the cerwin vega, our booth car crx had 3 15" Cerwin Vegas and when they were out of the car, my 10" eclipse sub had more depth but it definitely pounded so might want to look into that

Similar Threads

  1. new subwoofer

    By bol in forum Cars, Bikes, Machines
    Replies: 8
    Latest Threads: 01-29-2003, 09:14 PM
  2. subwoofer install help!

    By eur0 in forum In Car Entertainment / Electronics
    Replies: 11
    Latest Threads: 01-29-2003, 11:48 AM
  3. KICKER COMP VR 10" subs - KENWOOD DECK - KICKER AMP - TRUNK INSTALL

    By frenchdriver in forum Miscellaneous Buy/Sell/Trade
    Replies: 9
    Latest Threads: 12-11-2002, 09:38 PM
  4. connecting subwoofer to a 2 channel amp

    By inspire in forum In Car Entertainment / Electronics
    Replies: 18
    Latest Threads: 12-10-2002, 01:30 AM
  5. Carbon fiber trunk lid for prelude 92-96??????

    By driz6 in forum Performance Modifications
    Replies: 5
    Latest Threads: 11-17-2002, 06:40 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •