Quantcast
Nucleus internet service - Beyond.ca - Car Forums
Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: Nucleus internet service

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Calgary and Kelowna
    My Ride
    Subaru(s)
    Posts
    69
    Rep Power
    0

    Default Nucleus internet service

    Anyone here on Nucleus ? Im looking at getting it as a shaw/telus alternative. As shaw is not available at this house and telus blocks way to many incomming ports.

    Nucleus says you are not supposed to run servers on the connection but do they accually block port 80,21 etc from incomming connections as telus does ?

    And would they get all pissy if you ran a personal website on port 80 ?

    Or streamed music for personal use ?
    I'll try being nicer if you try being smarter.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    Sentra
    Posts
    1,490
    Rep Power
    20

    Default

    nucleus is just resold telus, expect the same restrictions as telus if not more.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    13 Scion FR-S, 11 Mitsu Outlander
    Posts
    1,516
    Rep Power
    21

    Default

    I had nucleus for years - way better than Telus service IMO. But since they pay Telus for bandwidth, they do watch it. I switched to Shaw just for extra speed and was planning on ditching the land line. Maybe 2 outages that I noticed in 5 years?

    Khyron
    That's not sweat. It's your fat, crying.


  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Calgary and Kelowna
    My Ride
    Subaru(s)
    Posts
    69
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    ^^^ but did they and do they now block ports ?
    I would like to go with them but I need an ISP that does not block incomming ports.
    Shaw is not available in this place, and telus blocks the ports I need.

    Bastards....
    I'll try being nicer if you try being smarter.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    Sentra
    Posts
    1,490
    Rep Power
    20

    Default

    so get the telus business server package, thats what its for.

    why would they allow the port open but to pay less to host servers. phone nucleus and ask

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Calgary and Kelowna
    My Ride
    Subaru(s)
    Posts
    69
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Telus server package is $85 a month. Just so I can have the right to open ports ?
    I'll try being nicer if you try being smarter.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    350Z
    Posts
    11
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    what ports you need? BT traffic?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Calgary and Kelowna
    My Ride
    Subaru(s)
    Posts
    69
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    I need 80,21, 22, and 5000 mostly...
    I'll try being nicer if you try being smarter.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    Sentra
    Posts
    1,490
    Rep Power
    20

    Default

    telus block those ports unless you have the biz server im sure. I am on biz and its blocked.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Calgary and Kelowna
    My Ride
    Subaru(s)
    Posts
    69
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    ^^^^ that is why I am looking for alternatives. *sigh*
    I'll try being nicer if you try being smarter.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    13 Scion FR-S, 11 Mitsu Outlander
    Posts
    1,516
    Rep Power
    21

    Default

    Why don't you have the main page for your site on a proper hosting place, and have all the links point to some weird port on your home machine?

    Or pay 10/month for hosting with somewhere like 1and1 that has more gigs/month transfer than any home package.

    Khyron
    That's not sweat. It's your fat, crying.


  12. #12
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Calgary and Kelowna
    My Ride
    Subaru(s)
    Posts
    69
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Well I found a place called Interbaun they have a decent server package with two static ip's for $55 a month much cheaper then telus. Just need to find a few reviews on how people have found their service.

    And I want to do my own webhosting because I develop on different platforms and am continualy changing the server enviroment.

    J2EE, PHP, .NET

    In addition I have areas of my site that require authentication. So people I am working with can view source, make comments, etc. I dont really want my source repositories on some elses computer. I really doubt the hosting companies will give me the flexability I need. And most of this work is done on the side as a hobby or for open source. Not my regular day job so I cannot justify spending that much a month on it. I need the freedom of being able to test whatever I want.
    I'll try being nicer if you try being smarter.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    13 Scion FR-S, 11 Mitsu Outlander
    Posts
    1,516
    Rep Power
    21

    Default

    Ah ok, so you won't even really be using a lot of bandwidth then. If the interbaun thing doesn't work out, I had Nucleus business dsl for my halflife servers for 2+ years - it was great until the bandwidth starting going apeshit. Was about 90 bucks/month for 6 static ips. If you are in the NE, there is a pretty sweet wireless isp that might suit your needs, I will look it up on monday.

    Khyron
    That's not sweat. It's your fat, crying.


  14. #14
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Calgary and Kelowna
    My Ride
    Subaru(s)
    Posts
    69
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    I couldnt see any server type package on the Nucleus website. Only package with static ip's is $85 a month. Unless they have a hidden package you have to ask for. Or an older one they no longer provide to new customers.

    Agreed, that it is better then telus. But thats not hard to beat.
    I'll try being nicer if you try being smarter.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    13 Scion FR-S, 11 Mitsu Outlander
    Posts
    1,516
    Rep Power
    21

    Default

    The wireless option we use at work is Terago. Might be too pricy, but then again maybe not.

    http://www.terago.ca/services/detail_TSL.php

    Khyron
    That's not sweat. It's your fat, crying.


Similar Threads

  1. Internet Telephone Service...

    By Toma in forum Computers, Consoles, and other Electronics
    Replies: 18
    Latest Threads: 03-15-2005, 12:41 PM
  2. Router/Internet problems: MSN wont stay logged on, delayed internet response, etc

    By Redlyne_mr2 in forum Computers, Consoles, and other Electronics
    Replies: 10
    Latest Threads: 01-04-2005, 01:42 PM
  3. Cant connect to internet while connected to internet?!?!

    By Stratus_Power in forum Computers, Consoles, and other Electronics
    Replies: 6
    Latest Threads: 10-06-2004, 01:25 PM
  4. Internet Service Providor

    By haze4dayz in forum Computers, Consoles, and other Electronics
    Replies: 23
    Latest Threads: 03-31-2004, 12:17 PM
  5. New Motorcycle Service Shop in town...

    By kevie88 in forum Bike Talk
    Replies: 1
    Latest Threads: 07-09-2002, 09:14 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •