Quantcast
Salt Water Aquarium Help - Beyond.ca - Car Forums

Thread: Salt Water Aquarium Help

My Ride
    Denali

Default Salt Water Aquarium Help

I have a 55 gallon salt water aquarium...I am still fairly new to this as it has only been about 7 months since I started... I just recently did a filter change and now all of my fish are dying..

Anyone have any help they can lend me as to how to prevent this from happening again and what steps I may have missed?!?!

My Ride
    Cayenne TT

When you did a filter change you should make sure to leave some of the old "dirt" in the aquarium to maintain a proper balance...

What type of filtration system are you using?

My Ride
    Denali

fluval 304...

is it better to change one component at a time?

My Ride
    toyota MR2

no you can change all your pads and carbon filters but you have to leave all but like a handfull of substrate or leave 2/3 (look like rocks) to keep a proper balance of bacteria as this is where almost all is stored. Thats why it is required that you let your tank run for a month before adding any type of fish so that you have bacterias in your tank... but the substrate box should have directions on changes

but take your water to any fish store and they will glady test your water...
    what kinda setup do you have?
    what kinda fish
    live rock? corals?
    what kinda light?
    protein skimmer?

You really shouldn't need filter like the Fluval. Invest in a good protein skimmer and maybe setup a refugium.

My Ride
    Denali

Originally posted by Impreza
    You really shouldn't need filter like the Fluval. Invest in a good protein skimmer and maybe setup a refugium.
    are you sure about that? for that size of a tank i don't think an overhang filter will really do the trick?!?!