Quantcast
Amp blowing fuses - Beyond.ca - Car Forums
Results 1 to 16 of 16

Thread: Amp blowing fuses

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Victoria, BC
    Posts
    1,398
    Rep Power
    22

    Default Amp blowing fuses

    OK, here's the deal.

    My amp is either completely dead, or something is really fucked in my system. Everything was working fine, then today, sub starts making some wierd ass popping noise and the cone is going crazy(it seems to be fine, works fine on my home stereo.) anyways, i turn it off, turn it back on, the fuse blows.

    i've replaced a ton of cables, tracked things down, nothing seems to be astray, and it still keeps blowing the fuse at the battery. no sub connected, etc etc, still keeps blowing the fuse at the battery after a couple of seconds.

    I'm thinking that the amp is probably dead, but if anyone else has any ideas... i'm all ears.


    EDIT: I should mention that the amp turns on for about a second, and then the fuse at the battery blows. Occasionally the fuse at the amp will blow.

  2. #2
    Fuji's Avatar
    Fuji is offline Track Events Co-ordinator
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    cars
    Posts
    2,011
    Rep Power
    23

    Default

    Maybe something is not grounded properly? I had a problem with blowing fuses... blew 5 of them before I realized something wasn't grounded properly.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    A l337 chair
    Posts
    560
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Just run your multimeter through the system before and after your amp, and make sure everything is cool. Dont open it or it will void your warranty/return. If the multimeter results aren't what you'd expect take it back. No sense in frying your equipment (the sub reaction was quite strange) over a shitty amp.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Victoria, BC
    Posts
    1,398
    Rep Power
    22

    Default

    yeah i don't have a multimeter with me here so i can't try that
    im pretty sure the ground is fine but i've had enough troubleshooting for the night

    i'll check more tomorrow

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    335i
    Posts
    8,929
    Rep Power
    29

    Default

    Put a bigger sized fuse
    Original Post NAZI Moderated


    Originally posted by r3cc0s
    Felon or Mistermeiner

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Victoria, BC
    Posts
    1,398
    Rep Power
    22

    Default

    Originally posted by Weapon_R
    Put a bigger sized fuse

    heh it aint the fuse being underrated, trust me.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    c-town
    My Ride
    AI Servo
    Posts
    1,317
    Rep Power
    22

    Default

    Yup, you amp is prolly fuxored. There's a guy in town that can fix them quit good. His name is serge and he owns Surge Electronics. Just down the street (east) from Bagolac. He fixed my blada a few years ago.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    CIVIC
    Posts
    106
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    That happend to my amp before and i brought it in to get it fixed at some stereo place on 17ave SE
    it cost me like 70 bucks but they give you an estimate first so u should take it there just to no whats wrong with it

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    YYC
    My Ride
    APR Audi S4
    Posts
    2,058
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Originally posted by turboMiata
    Yup, you amp is prolly fuxored. There's a guy in town that can fix them quit good. His name is serge and he owns Surge Electronics. Just down the street (east) from Bagolac. He fixed my blada a few years ago.
    Talk to Mike (audi_kid) maybe he knows what's going on!

    Peter

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    335i
    Posts
    8,929
    Rep Power
    29

    Default

    I know a guy that lives close to my house - he's been repairing our electronics for YEARS now. His house is always full of electronics. Nice asian guy and very good prices since he does it from home.

    I have a V12 amp that i'd like to check out - so if you want, we can take both of them to him and see if he does this kind of work and get a good price for em.
    Original Post NAZI Moderated


    Originally posted by r3cc0s
    Felon or Mistermeiner

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    My Ride
    chev lumina 3.1L
    Posts
    72
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    i dont know lots about amps but maybe u dont have a good ground..correct me if im wrong.
    "God Rested On The 7th Day Cuz He Raced Me On The 6th"


  12. #12
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    4cyl turbo diesel with a max speed of 10.9kmh
    Posts
    1,583
    Rep Power
    22

    Default

    Originally posted by Beastly Power
    i dont know lots about amps but maybe u dont have a good ground..correct me if im wrong.



    CONCRETE PATIO SPECIAL, PM ME FOR DETAILS!

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    My Ride
    chev lumina 3.1L
    Posts
    72
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Originally posted by redline_13000



    u wna corrct me redline_13000?
    "God Rested On The 7th Day Cuz He Raced Me On The 6th"


  14. #14
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    4cyl turbo diesel with a max speed of 10.9kmh
    Posts
    1,583
    Rep Power
    22

    Default

    Originally posted by Beastly Power


    u wna corrct me redline_13000?
    haha no man..i just have to laugh at every one of ur posts...i think lots of ppl would agree..hey weapon r?


    CONCRETE PATIO SPECIAL, PM ME FOR DETAILS!

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    335i
    Posts
    8,929
    Rep Power
    29

    Default

    Originally posted by redline_13000


    haha no man..i just have to laugh at every one of ur posts...i think lots of ppl would agree..hey weapon r?
    hahahahahahahhahaha - ya I agree 100%.
    Original Post NAZI Moderated


    Originally posted by r3cc0s
    Felon or Mistermeiner

  16. #16
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Victoria, BC
    Posts
    1,398
    Rep Power
    22

    Default

    Well i just tried a new ground and still no luck, Light_Speed what was the name of the place on 17th? Weapon_R do you want to ask your neighboor to see if he'd want to fix em?

Similar Threads

  1. WTB: Sub & Amp

    By Beastly Power in forum Miscellaneous Buy/Sell/Trade
    Replies: 3
    Latest Threads: 03-04-2003, 11:00 AM
  2. FS: Guitar Amp: Crate G600 Head & 2x12 Cabinet

    By three.eighteen. in forum Miscellaneous Buy/Sell/Trade
    Replies: 0
    Latest Threads: 12-13-2002, 02:50 AM
  3. Rx-7 Blowing up?

    By Prezzy in forum General Car/Bike Talk
    Replies: 2
    Latest Threads: 10-17-2002, 08:08 PM
  4. fs: 2 12" MTX Blue Thunder Subs & MTX 1502 Pro Amp

    By Ed the SOHC in forum Miscellaneous Buy/Sell/Trade
    Replies: 8
    Latest Threads: 08-06-2002, 07:01 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •