Quantcast
Leaving/Quitting a job - Beyond.ca - Car Forums

Thread: Leaving/Quitting a job

My Ride
    I like. :)

Default Leaving/Quitting a job

I have been working for a company as a 'contractor' for over 4 months. They haven't finalized the terms of my contract within the time that I've been there, they haven't presented me with a written contract to sign, I have signed nothing saying that I am in a contract with them as my client.

Am I still required to give "2 weeks" notice or can I just quit/walk out when I want to. 2 week notice would be polite but besides that, I just want to leave.

My Ride
    335i

The 2 week policy is a courtesy to an employer acknowledging termination of your employment. It is not necessary, and they cannot withhold any type of payment owed as a result.

The reason I would recommend you give them some type of notice is for future references. An employer is much likely to give you a favorable reference if you quit with notice than if you decide to walk out on them.
    Original Post NAZI Moderated

Originally posted by r3cc0s
    Felon or Mistermeiner

Never NEVER burn your bridges! Your name travels faster than you do.

I always give at least 2 weeks notice no matter how long i have been there. Except for one job where i had to start at better job within a week. But i still stayed working nights for the previous employer for a week to train the new guy.

Just be the nice guy and give the 2 weeks. At VERY least talk to your employeer and arrange something.

My Ride
    H-D 883 XLH

http://www.gov.on.ca/LAB/english/es/...rmination.html

I noticed that you are from ontario, but each province will have a site similiar to this.

It states that your employer would have to give you 1 week notice, so I think it would be ethical to give them the same amount if you choose to resign.