Quantcast
Wedding Ceremony Advice - Beyond.ca - Car Forums

Thread: Wedding Ceremony Advice

My Ride
    Denali

Default Wedding Ceremony Advice

So my question is for church recomendations in the North west... I have been doing my own digging, I just wanted to see if anyone could offer some assistance... I am still fairly new to calgary so I was hoping some of the people who have lived here longer may be able to help a bit.

The obstacles that we face are that we are non-denominational which as far as I know leaves all catholic, mormon and seventh day churches out of the question. Does anyone know which churches will support a non denominational couple as I was hoping to rent it and bring in a jp.

Thanks in advance for any help.
    Last edited by missblondie; 08-29-2005 at 07:09 PM.

My Ride
    Highlander

^^ I think most united churches are pretty open to non-denominational couples, I know they will integrate the different religions together in a ceremony if there are 2 different religions marrying. I dont see why it would be any different if you were non-denominational

My Ride
    2002 Acura 1.7EL

I had the same problem looking for a church for our wedding. Most of the United churches are fairly open but do want you to attend a wedding counselling seminar. They also invite you to attend service with them. So if you are ok with that then try it out. My finance and I ended up going to the Wedding Pavillion. Great place!

Most churches will require you to take marriage counselling before an members of the clergy will marry you.

So if you are non-religious you may have a difficult time getting married by the pastor/priest of the church. However most churches will rent their facilities out to you and you can bring in anyone you want to marry you.

May I ask why you find it so important to be married in a church by a religious leader without being religious or churchgoing yourself? Seems kind of odd.