Quantcast
mobile laptop internet suggestions - Beyond.ca - Car Forums

Thread: mobile laptop internet suggestions

My Ride
    1989 Toyota Supra Turbo

Default mobile laptop internet suggestions

I just took a job as a medic on oil rigs and seismic operations in Northern Alberta and other parts of Alberta, I just purchased a new laptop and would like to have internet access while I'm out there cus it'll be the only thing to keep me busy.

Anyways, I've been looking into "Air Cards" for my laptop to be able to connect to the internet while I'm out there and was wondering if anyone has any experience with these or has any suggestions for me since I am pretty new to this idea.

I might be able to pickup a wireless connection out there but that's iffy at best and even when I can get a connection, my company would prefer I not use it so they told me to look into something else for internet connection.

So if anyone has any suggestions for me that would be great or even any experience with this kind of stuff, I'd like to hear what you think!

Thanks

Jason
    [imghttp://www.ubersupra.com/misc/logo1.gif[/img]
    Jay Ferguson
    [email protected]
    403.291.5646 local
    877.CMS.7222 toll free

My dad is an engineer and travels in northern Alberta extensively. He has a sierra wireless aircard and it runs on the telus mobility EVDO network which is very fast (they call it wireless broadband) but very few areas actually support EVDO up in the north. So where it can't acess the EVDO network it runs on the slower 1X network. I think that telus may be the only carrier that even offers coverage in remote areas up north. If you wanted to look into rogers and fido they also have a wireless card that runs on the GPRS and EDGE networks but again the coverage might be quite sketchy.

Speed wise this is how they networks rank:

1. EVDO (telus)
    2. EDGE (fido, rogers)
    3. 1X (telus)
    4 GPRS

Telus
    Rogers