Quantcast
Total detailing noob needs help... - Beyond.ca - Car Forums
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Total detailing noob needs help...

My Ride
    is Invisible

Default Total detailing noob needs help...

Like stated in the title, im a total newb when it comes to detailing cars. Ive had the car for a while now and havent waxed it once.

I really need to know the basics!

What do i need to buy in order to have my car all shinny, like it just came from the show room floor. Specifically what products and how do i use them?(What to use first, second and so forth.)

Thanks.

Edit: Scroll down for pics.
    Last edited by adidas; 04-24-2007 at 04:36 PM.

There is a ton that can be done. I could go on for hours of what you can do.

However lets start with the basics.

Get good car wash. I am going to assume you want to do it all by hand and pick everything up at Canadian tire or other local store.

so for a wash try Meguires gold class, it is a slick soap, dosent strip paint, very gentle and well priced, use a sheap skin was mit. simoniz makes, they are actully very nice and can be bought at CT.

Next you need to dry the car, for this i would suggest a high quility microfiber coth. NO BATH TOWELS THEY WILL MARR YOU PAINT.
    I belive canadian tire sells mf clothes, however this is one i would sugest buying online. The best ones i have tried up to this point are cobra which are sold by autogeek.net

After the car is all dry you may want to clay. Your paint collects lots of tiny particals and overspray, especlly while it is on the truck for delivery. I have even seen bentlys loaded on the back of a semi so your car probley needs to be clayed.
    The clay is very safe and will not harm the paint.

You can get either a mothers or megs clay kit. I would suggest buying kit. It comes with the clay and clay lube.