Quantcast
Newbie: Compression Ratio? - Beyond.ca - Car Forums
Page 1 of 3 1 2 ... LastLast

Thread: Newbie: Compression Ratio?

Default Newbie: Compression Ratio?

alright welpz im just learning about the engine slowly as we mod our car. SO DONT FLAME ME hehe for any stupid comments i make im just curious to what is compression ratio. er, actually no, what do the Numbers stand for. such as this:12,4:1 that is the compression ratio for a 2003 yamaha r6. now what tha hell do the numbers stand for?

and also i know higher octane gas gives you some more hp, but i dont get how higher octane gas gives you that lil extra boost. because the way i understand it, higher octane only works when you increase the compression ratio of your car.

uuh yea my questions are silly, but i hope you guys understand its comming from a newbie that wants to LEARN, and not read some b/s remarks. hehe thanx in advance! and yes i have checked out several sites on compression ratio but none have given me answers to what i want to know.

My Ride
    RB26-s14

its the ratio of the amount of space you have in the cylinder when the piston is all the way at bottom (BDC) to the amount of space you have with the piston all the way up (TDC) the higher the compression ratio the more power the motor will make, but you will need to use higher grade fuel..to reduce chances of detonation. keep in mind when fuel mixtures are compressed to a certain point, they will self ignite, and blow everything up

Sorry if I am wrong guys
    AutoDream

My Ride
    STI

Octane is just how stable a gas is under heat and pressure. The higher the octane the higher presure and heat it can take before it detonates!

My Ride
    B18C5 neon -|-y|>3 r

yes...it was in a post earlier...higher level octane takes longer to burn...in the summer when it's really warm, the engine runs hotter and the charge pre-ignites so the computer retards the timinig...with the slower burning higher octane the computer wont have to retard timing...