Quantcast
The "How-To" Mega Thread For Complete Car Detailing! Pic Intensive :) - Beyond.ca - Car Forums
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: The "How-To" Mega Thread For Complete Car Detailing! Pic Intensive :)

My Ride
    2016 Focus RS - Stealth Grey

Default The "How-To" Mega Thread For Complete Car Detailing! Pic Intensive :)

Ok everyone bear with me here! This is my first time doing a any sort of step by step picture guide but I'll try to be as thorough and detailed (pun intended lol) as possible. Most people on these boards have cars they want looking their best at all times, so I hope this can help in some shape or form

I've noticed over the last couple of weeks there's been threads asking about polishing exteriors, using clay bars, headlight restoration and much more. So I hope this can help everyone get a better understanding of what tools you'll need, how to use them, and what results you can expect using these techniques.

The goal to this thread is to make it as open as I can. If you have any questions about anything, products, techniques, tools etc, feel free to ask away and I will do my best to help out and answer them to the best of my abilities and knowledge allows. If I can't answer it off the bat, I will search to find the answer.

Keep in mind, this may not be industry standard! This is what, in my experience, has proven to work the best and produce the best results for me, and my customers.

I'm going to start off with exterior polishing. The absolute key here is cleanliness. Making sure the car is a clean as possible from the get go will ensure proper results. Do a solid wash to start. Start from the top and work your way down. The more soap and suds the better!

Step One: Car Wash

I use the two bucket wash method, combined with an electric pressure washer, a third dedicated bucket for cleaning the rims, an assortment of brushes, toothbrushes, microfiber wash mit, as well as a foam cannon attached to a garden hose.