Quantcast
Automotive Mechanic: How to begin? - Beyond.ca - Car Forums
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Automotive Mechanic: How to begin?

Default Automotive Mechanic: How to begin?

Hello,

I finished a psychology degree in 2004 and have worked in the field but for the most part have found my options limited and disappointing considering the time I invested to get this degree. There are a couple different ways I could attempt to use my degree but I'm not sure I want to. I am not interested in completing graduate studies. One option I am seriously considering is going in the trade of automotive service technician. Unfortunately I have never had the time to pursue automotive mechanics. I had so little money going through university that I didn't even get a car until I was done. Are there employers who take people like myself as an apprentice -- and by person like myself I mean someone with essentially no knowledge of automotive mechanics. If I had the time I would pursue automotive mechanics on my own or through NAIT first and then apply for apprenticeship/work. But I need to get a job within a few months because my money will run out. I don't really want to go back to what I as doing (community service worker), but I will if I must. Anyone have any general advice for me?

Also, I've been trying to find information on what companies in Edmonton take on apprentices for the position of automotive mechanic but I found very little in my web searches. Does anyone know of a list of such companies?

Thanks in Advance,

-- Matthew
    Last edited by oneday; 11-03-2006 at 05:31 PM.

Last edited by Rat Fink; 12-01-2020 at 11:48 PM.
    Thanks for the 14 years of LOLs. Govern yourselves accordingly and avoid uppercut reactions!

My Ride
    00 Protege

or go to sait's automotive technologies program. It's a great program. Two years you get a diploma(get you a job in no time) And it counts towards your hours.... so 16 months of your hours....

^^ Good points